Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:55 a.m. - 2008-01-14
Snowed In!
Can I just say that I am 50 years old and I am so very happy to have a snow day today? And spouse has a snow day, and Andy has a snow day! YAY! Everyone else is still snug in their beds, but I got up to check online, never expecting that both colleges would be closed - BUT THEY ARE! YIPPEE! I already have a soup simmering on the stove, and this will be a good chance to catch up on cleaning our bedroom. And maybe baking some cookies with Andy.

And I don't have to worry about one of us having to drive in this snow!

I remember as a kid waking up and having to listen to the radio to find out if we had school or not. I can still hear the particular radio personality's voice - his name was Bob Steel and he was a legend in Connecticut in the 60s and 70s. I think he just passed away a few years ago. We'd wait as they read the list alphabetically (fortunately, our town was early in the alphabet!) Then we'd have to wait and hear it a second time just to confirm, but by that time we were too excited to go back to sleep.

Had a nice weekend - I actually sat and watched a movie Saturday afternoon - "Little Miss Sunshine" and LOVED it.
It was nice not to have to shop, bake, wrap, cook or clean something for a few hours.

Saturday night we hung out with our "grownup" friends at the house next door and watched football. Yesterday we took the in-laws to lunch and ran a few errands for them as they braced for the big snow.

Today is all about FOUND TIME!

My folks are back at home in Flora Dora. Their phone isn't working and of course my mother forgot her cell phone at my sister's yesterday. Oi.

At least they don't have to worry about snow.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!