Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:55 a.m. - 2008-01-11
Rain in the forecast
I had a decent day yesterday. Did some work in the morning, got Andy and spouse off to work/school, did some medical things, then got my parents out into the fresh air. I picked up Andy at noon as a surprise, and we took everyone to lunch at a local snazzy seafood chain. Very tasty - I had raw littleneck clams (this is the ONLY place I would ever order them because they test the shellfish); and a fisherman's stew for lunch. Andy had a lobster. I'd been promising him one for nearly a year, and he ate the entire thing and was so excited - a HUGE day for him - missing two hours of school AND a lobster AND getting to hang out with his grandparents. We hit two other craft-type stores and my mother found some more yarn that she wanted, then I picked up some groceries for dinner and we pretty much crashed. My folks started packing - they are leaving today, mid-day - their friend from the next state is coming to get them and they'll stay with them for the weekend and fly home to my sister's. I'll miss them, but I think spouse is ready to get his house back.

Have I mentioned that my parents are messy house guests? Otherwise, they are usually pretty easy - don't require much entertaining, though I have to force them to go outside every few days.

I'm not sure when we'll get to see them again - I wanted to go down during February break (Andy's not mine nor spouse's) but my mother is going on a week-long cruise with a friend. And we're reaching a point in Andy's education where I can't pull him out of school for a few days. So I have to ponder this.

In March, my parents are taking a month-long trip to Asia, so I'm not sure when we'll get to see them until late April or May, and In May I have to go to Florida again for my niece's First Communion, but spouse is supposed to be giving a paper in Europe, and Andy has state exam testing the week before and the week after. I'm all flummoxed. ALSO - I don't know what we're doing this year for summer vacation, because I have to wait and see what my brother and his fiancee are planning wedding-wise. They are aiming for a wedding this year, we just don't know where or when - could be up here, could be down there...Oh. Well. Guess 2008 is my year to not have to plan everything so infinitely.

We are in the middle of a huge thunderstorm, and the rain is coming down in buckets.

It is weird to hear thunder in mid-January. And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!