Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:29 a.m. - 2008-01-07
On to the rest o'the week
Especially Mondayish Monday - cool, drizzly, grey, and I'm on my way to a root canal.

Busy, busy week - my parents have been at my brother's since Saturday morning. My SIL's mother is recovering from her colon cancer surgery and is still in the hospital. Friday night we went out to dinner - it started out very nicely - delicious meal, everyone enjoying themselves, but my mother insisted on drinking and drinking - first an enormous martini - I'm talking like at least three shots of gin. Then half a bottle of wine, then an after dinner cordial - I heard her voice and speech slip into the "too much to drink" pattern. She talks and talks, and offers advice, and tries to teach life lessons. I want to peel my skin off with rage. Then she came home and had two more shakers of manhattans. I did my best alanon, absented myself and went to bed as soon as Andy came home. The neighbors invited him to go night sledding in their yard right after we got home from the restaurant.

Saturday we had breakfast out with the neighbors at my favorite breakfast place, then dropped my parents off at my brother's. They come back tomorrow. I don't think she drinks at my brother's house. I don't know why she insists on doing it here.

And for now, that's all I've got because I feel my stomach tightening into a huge knot.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!