Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:09 a.m. - 2007-12-28
Comings and goings
At work again! My parents made it in just fine - spouse and Andy picked them up while I got dinner ready. We splurged and used real plates instead of paper because the dishwasher repair man said we could use the dishwasher probably two or three times before it conked out again, but this morning we saw that the dishwasher did not want to work, so my parents are washing dishes this a.m. before the repair guy returns with the parts today.

Had a nice meal, opened some more gifts - my mother and father got me a Nordstrom's gift card and a gift card to the drug store chain so I can print out photos. YAY!

I also got some Christmas socks (I'm wearing them now.)

They loved their gifts - playing cards made from photographs of our Alaska trip, a calendar of photos from the Alaska trip, a tetrus game for my mother, a flannel shirt and wool cap for my father; some plastic cutting boards that they asked for and a deruta (pottery from Italy) bowl and plate.

Did I already write that Andy made caricatures of everyone for Christmas? They are pretty cool. He mounted them on green construction paper and wrapped them himself. He was pretty proud.

Today I may only work a half-day. It is eerily quiet on campus, and the two things I came in for are now not going to happen. That's okay.

Yesterday afternoon, my friend/brother's girlfriend and I got pedicures - it is a holiday tradition we started four years ago. I opted for no polish this time since my toenails probably need to breathe, and since I won't be wearing sandals any time soon. But it was so nice to have the pampering - leg/foot massage, skin buffing, callous removing, nail trimming, foot soaking...Ahhhhhhhh.

My brothers are meeting up for lunch in Boston today - I'm glad for them. They haven't spent time alone with each other in years. Tonight we're going to a place near the Cape for dinner. They have the most amazing turnips. Yes, I said turnips. We're driving 40 minutes to get turnips. They're that good.

Tomorrow, my brother and his girlfriend/myfriend will head back to her house for a big party her family is having. We were invited, but I gotta say, I'm pretty pooped, so I think we'll lay low. Then they leave to go skiing and we won't see them until we're in Florida again.

OH! And my brother installed the bathroom lights. It is wierd because the light is different, so I'll need some time to get used to it, but it looks good. And spouse likes the fixtures and thinks they're funky.

Sunday, I'll spend time prepping for the New Year's Day open house - grocery shop, clean, etc. As I said, I love my family, but they tend to be messy house guests.

But I am messy too.

No one else is at work on the third floor today. It is very, very quiet!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!