Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:53 a.m. - 2007-12-26
Christmas!
Did you have a good Christmas? We did!

For the rest of Christmas eve we went ot the in-laws who loved the dinner we brought. The beef wellingtons were a little salty, but everything else came out just fine, and I made a sauce with shallots, a bit of garlic, wine, butter and worcestershire sauce and cream that everyone liked for the beef.

We came home, I made the cheesy grits and rolls, wrapped a few more things, finished the laundry and then we went to midnight mass. Spouse wanted to go early to get parking and a seat. He remembered that last time we went to this church (11 years ago! I was pregnant with Andy) that there were few seats. We got there at quarter past 11, and got both seats and parking. Then we waited until 11:30 for the musical program which while technically not great, was very sincere. It was nice to be in a small church (the one I usually go to is ginormous). The priest didn't seem too pompous. Got home, we put on our matching penguin jammies, Andy put out cookies for Santa after checking the NORAD site fifty thousand times during the night, and then fell into bed - it was nearly 2 a.m. I had a few more things to do, then stuffed the stockings and also fell into bed around 2:30. I set the alarm, because my brother said he would be getting up around 7 and I figured he'd get to the house around 8, but sure enough we heard the doorbell ring at 7:30, so we got started opening gifts!

Andy was so excited about his gifts, and was really surprised about getting the Wii! We'll set it up today for him. He also got a ton more Star Wars toys. Ugh. Where to put everything!

Spouse liked his gifts (mostly books and clothes); and I got a watch and a gift certificate from spouse to go out to dinner and pick out a new perfume! (I suggested that would be a great gift).

My brother and his girlfriend gave me a gift card for a local spa; Andy gave me the new James Taylor CD; and my other brother gave me champagne glasses. My sister gave me a gift card to a hardware chain so I can get some new bathroom lights. YAY!

The neighbors came over for breakfast at 10, and everything turned out fine. No one minded eating off of paper plates (the dishwasher repair man came on Christmas eve after all, but then didn't have the part he needed, so he'll be back in a few days I hope!)

After breakfast, everyone took naps and I finished the dishes. We headed to my other brother's house for Christmas dinner. We had a nice time - he maded baked stuffed shrimp, caesar salad and steaks. The kids had a great time with their cousins.

After dinner, we sat around the table and told stories about growing up to our own children, and we laughed so much we fell off our chairs. It was a really nice end to the day.

Drove home, made the coffee for the morning and fell asleep.

And today? Return some extra gifts, help my brother look for ski bibs (they're going skiing later this week) and make dinner (escarole soup).

And for now, except for post Christmas merry wishes for you - that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!