Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:22 a.m. - 2007-12-20
Gabriel
Have I written about our Sudanese student? I met him last month, and he is a most hopeful, positive person. He fled his village about 6 years ago when it was set afire. He believed his family all to be dead in the aftermath. He walked for months until he reached a refugee camp elsewhere in Africa. While there, a group worked to bring him to the United States. A few weeks before he was to leave, his brother arrived at the camp and they had a few weeks together before he left. Then 9/11 happened, and it was very difficult to get paperwork/documents for his brother to come to the United States, so he ended up in Australia. They keep in touch, but it is hard. About a year or so, this boy who is now a man in his early 20s, found out that his mother and two sisters are alive, and he has been working to bring them either to the United States or to Australia. All he wants to do is to bring them somewhere where they will be able to "wake up in the morning and not have to think about where they can run and hide to be safe."

It only will take $7,600 to do this.

Gabriel is still so positive and hopeful. He believes that God is directing him to people who can help save his family. He is grateful for what he has, and for the help he has received. He is living with a family here on campus and is working to raise funds for his mother and sisters' safety. He says his sisters are very smart and he is proud of them.

To learn more about him, there is a website: www dot outofsudan dot org

I got the newspaper to cover him, and they are coming in a few minutes to interview him. I am hopeful that his story will inspire others.

And now, I will go and count my blessings.

And for now that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!