Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:15 a.m. - 2007-11-29
A tiny bit smug in the kitchen
It is THURSDAY and I have negotiated a working at home day tomorrow, so I am already anticipating a happy, happy Friday dance! And tonight, I'm going out with the mommies, and I'm going to lunch with a co worker I really, really like! YAY!

Yesterday was a usual crazybusy day with an event at the end of the day. I was in meetings for a big chunk of things, so when I got back to my office, there was a message from Andy's school's nurse saying that Andy had fallen off the monkey bars in gym and had fallen on his back. She iced him down (and YES I did detect the note of dissatisfaction of my absence from my desk...) and would call if there was anything else I needed to know, but she was sending him back to class. This is the same school nurse who in first grade, sent him home with a temp of 98.9.

Anyway, I didn't get this message until several hours after it happened, and by that time Andy was home with spouse and getting ready to go to CCD. Spouse suggested that since the college was lighting its holiday tree yesterday, that Andy could miss CCD (He's NEVER missed unless he was really sick) and come to the tree lighting. So they joined me at 4:30 and we watched them light the lovely, politically correct, ecologically friendly tree - the "Christmakwanzakkah" tree, and Andy was running all around the quad with some of the other boys so I stopped worrying about his back. He didn't even ask for motrin last night, and had nary a complaint this morning. We watched the "Shrek the Halls" special and the Grinch last night (which seemed oddly truncated somehow) and had a nice, restful evening. I made French bread pizzas which turned out deliciously well (Slice the bread loaf length wise, spoon chopped tomatoes and/or pasta sauce on the bread, cover with mozzarella and parmesan or romano cheese, bake at 450 for 20 minutes.) Very delish. And I had time to make the chili for tonight (Leftover roast pork, leftover salsa, leftover tomatoes, chopped carrot, onion, pepper, garlic, cilantro) and a can of diced tomatoes and two cans of kidney beans. I also added cumin, epazote and adobo seasoning, and threw in a loaf of bread in the machine which will be ready in a few hours. Ask me how virtuous electricity makes me feel? This morning I am:

1. Washing clothes
2. Washing dishes
3. Cooking chili in the crockpot
4. Baking a loaf of bread

And all from the comfort of my office...

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!