Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:03 a.m. - 2007-11-16
A bit of a whine
Spouse is sick too. Andy is almost over it, although he has his winter cough which he'll own until about may, and then his allergies will kick in and he'll hack and wheeze through Julyish.

I am just so undone at the moment. Work is really crazy with minutia. People who are supposed to be doing things aren't doing them, and sometimes pretending that they did. Others are just ignoring deadlines but have layers of administrative assistants to help them.

I'm waiting for the president to explode sometime this afternoon because she is worried about this memorial service tomorrow. I've tried to manage her expectations - the family is only bringing about a dozen guests, the rest will be staff members from the college. We've done everything we can to accomodate them, but they are just not folks who want to give alot of information.

I just want it to be done well, and I just want it to be done.

Last night was my fourth night out because of work - we hosted a Native American fancy dancer so I brought Andy and some of my cub scouts. (I'm also burned out about that too, but that's another discussion.) The performance was really fascinating and I enjoyed it. Andy asked if we could buy a CD of the Native American chants so we did.

We got home around 8:30, and I paid a few bills, but that's about all I got done before I collapsed into bed.

I still have to get the house cleaned and gifts wrapped for spouse's birthday tomorrow, and we're watching a friend's children this afternoon and evening while she is at the hospital with her mother who just had a brain tumor removed, and will now face surgery to have lung tumors removed.

Yes. I am counting my blessings and will stop whining now.

So tonight - clean, home-made pizza night, laundry, wrap gifts.

Tomorrow spouse's birthday breakfast, go to work at 9:30, hope to have it wrapped up at 1; Go home, finish cleaning, go to church, greet overnight guests (Aunt and Uncle), go to dinner, go to sleep.

Sunday morning, READ THE PAPER!!! Get ready for dinner company on Sunday. The menu:

Roast pork with pistatios, rasins and garlic stuffed into the meat (very yummy); rosemary roasted potatoes, roasted asparagas and brussels sprouts and cake. Oh yah, I have to make a cake. Maybe I'll just BUY a cake.

Don't know if my Aunt and Uncle will stay through Monday - it is fine if they do, they are late sleepers, so we'll be gone to work/school on Monday by the time they get up.

Do I sound joyful? I don't do I. I want to be, because I really enjoy this week coming up - pre-Thanksgiving, Thanksgiving and Black Friday.

Oh, and here's the cub scout whine: We had a great little den, and we absorbed another den because the father worked full-time and couldn't do it anymore. (HAH! He should try being a woman!) Anyway, the additional families do NOTHING to participate, including acknowledging emails about meetings, obligations, etc. I am really feeling so done.

If you say you are going to come to an event or a meeting, then do it, or let someone know that you have changed your mind. If you say you are going to participate in an activity for badgework, then show up. And show up prepared. Ugh.

Oh.

Today I get to lead tours of potential freshmen and their families. Then I am hopeful to get a flu shot this afternoon.

Also, did I write that I finally made it to Social Security to change my name after nearly 17 years of marriage (though it was changed on my license, my passport and my voter registration?) So after I changed it, which I was forced to do because the DMV wouldn't renew my license this month because of the discrepancy (what - only took 'em 17 years?) I waited an hour for help at SS, then I waited another hour at the DMV for the license, but the system went down and they sent everyone home. A. Bit. Frustrated.

And also, happy, happy Friday Dance.

For now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!