Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:08 a.m. - 2007-11-09
Is glucose a bad sugar?
It was just one non-stop day of meetings from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m. I went to do the focus group with students, but sadly, no students showed up. Apparently the incentive of "cookies and punch" was not enough to get students to commit to doing the focus group for an hour. I don't blame them. So I made some suggestions for incentives for the next two groups and we'll see what happens.

Today I am meeting up with my old work colleagues for lunch. It will be a little drive (Chaos - I can look for interesting things on the side of the road!) and it will be good to see them.

I'm still working on a memorial service for next week - if only the families who asked us to do this would talk to us. Or each other.

We got incomplete and unsettling news from the vet yesterday who left a message saying we should call her for the results of the piggie's lab test, but that she wouldn't be back in the office until next week. I finally tracked someone down who could give us some information, but only that there was glucose in the piggie's urine, which is not what we took him in there for - we took him in because of the color. So what does this all mean? We don't know because no one can call us back. The piggie seems perfectly fine - eating, wheaking, stinking a bit...all his usual things. The person who gave us the minimal answer said that the glucose in the urine could be caused either by a contaminated container, or piggie diabetes which is very rare. We'll see. As soon as someone deigns to call us back.

This afternoon we are watching a friend's son (who is also friendly with Andy.) The friend just found out that her mother is very ill, and has taken her into Boston for tests, but there is nothing conclusive yet. They expect to hear more today. I am praying for her and her mother.

Okay, I've covered part of my day, my pet - here is dinner:

Last night I made pasta with sausages. Made a sauce from canned tomatoes, garlic, basil, fresh parsley and a bit of wilted scallion. It was very tasty. We all decided we would only have "firsts." So there are leftovers for today.

This weekend:

Flu shot for Andy (gotta find one for me)

Craft Fair

Grocery Shopping

Festival of laundry and cleaning

Pick up birthday gift for neighborfriend's daughter

Pick up birthday cards for spouse and others

Order turkey for Thanksgiving

Make a dry-cleaning run

Return some jeans and a shirt

Worry about the piggie

Go to Senior Center Open house for the college

Finish the summer/winter clothes switch and storage

Get my sister a hand mixer for Christmas

Cub Scout stuff

Don't you wish you were me?

Oh - and the happy, happy Friday dance.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!