Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:08 a.m. - 2007-10-29
A warm muffin would be good right now
Can I just say how glad I am that the world series is over now and I can go to sleep at a decent hour? Okay. And we're not really even that into it, it was just so compelling.

Did I clean Friday night? Nope, just paid the bills and threw out some papers that sprouted on the dining room table. Friday afternoon, we test drove a boring car, then I had to go back to work. Spouse and I grabbed lunch first (also a boring place...I can't even remember what I had - oh yah, cup of clam chowder and a grilled cheese sandwich. Very bland.) Friday night, spouse and Andy picked me up from work, and we went home and made our pizza. Did the tiniest bit of things on my list, and fell asleep. Saturday morning, we slept until 8:30, but then had to hustle because we were going to the in-laws to see our baby niece. She is exactly 7 months old and a little cutie. After lunch, we left so they could watch sports and go shopping; we went to a toyota dealership near them and test drove two cars, and then...I bought one. They came down in price (it is the end of the month, so they are more willing to bargain, and also I did my homework and knew what they had paid for the car. They can make a profit, just not a huge one off me. They also took our old car in as trade, even though we weren't going to offer it, so we got the car at a price I could live with. Saturday night the husband of former silent friend (she is still our friend, she just isn't silent any more) invited us for dinner. His wife is away in bermuda with her mother and sisters, so we had dinner with him and his three girls. It was fun, but he was tired too. She's been gone since Wednesday, and got back yesterday.

Sunday morning, Andy and I went to 7:30 Mass, then got a few groceries, and headed off to drop off our car so that we can pick up the new car on Tuesday. Except spouse, who is in charge of papers and deeds, could not find the title to the car. I was really upset and disappointed. That was one of the few things I'd asked him to do, and I feel let down. I sulked most of the day after that. Sunday afternoon we got back, I did more laundry and cleaning (i.e. taming of the paper piles) and looking for the car title. Didn't cook last night because we had a big lunch out after we bought the car (fisherman's stew; Andy had salmon, spouse had trout); and Andy was invited to have pizza at the neighbors' house. Worked with Andy on his "Birds of Prey" project, then packed him up for school, made the beds (EVERY BED IN THE HOUSE!!!) with clean EVERYTHING - mattress pads, sheets, quilts) and watched the game.

Andy and I tend to anthropomorphize our cars (and other things.) So he was a little melancholy that we were giving our car (1995 Mercury Sable with 186,000 miles on it) away. We named him Mulder, because at the time that X files was on, they tended to drive cars like this. Anyway, this was the car of Andy to me. We got it used just a month or two after he was born (we had toyotas before that) and we wanted a big car around our baby. And we had it almost as long as we've had him! So as I was driving the 50 miles to the dealership to trade him in, the radio played "I hope you had the time of your life" just as I pulled in the dealership. I think if Andy was there he might have gotten a bit teary.

And now, we'll get to know and name a new car. It is grey, 5-speed manual. A bit sporty and compact, the opposite of me!!! But I like it. We pick him up tomorrow with a full tank of gas!

Also - we've put the down comforter back on the bed. That's a HUGE change for us. Tonight - WW pizza casserole for dinner with delicata squash and broccoli. Tomorrow night, maybe lobster in honor of my mother's arrival.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!