Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:01 a.m. - 2007-09-27
Spit and vinegar
I had been working on a presentation for the President and the chairman of the board - it was really one of my first big tests with her, and I sweated a bit. The original schedule was that I would give it to her on Sunday after the board meeting, but she decided that she wanted it yesterday. Fortunately, I had been working on it for a day or two, and so I sent it over when she asked.

Drum roll please...SHE LOVED IT! Whew.

I know I'll get whipped for something relatively soon, but at least my first impressions are positive.

It has been so hot and humid - People - it is the end of SEPTEMBER and it is supposed to be autumnal. I'm looking forward to wearing a jacket at some point. Sadly that isn't happening anytime soon - it is in the mid 90s. I didn't feel like cooking so we had sushi for dinner - spouse picked some up when I got home.

In other news of crumbling infrastructure - my car (which has nearly 200,000 miles on it - a 95 mercury sable - is due for inspection and spouse said he took it to three places (two of whom weren't doing inspections that day) and the third who said that they wouldn't inspect it because it has a leak in the exhaust system, and a broken spring or something. Hmmm. I was hoping to use this car for a few more months, since my commute is so miniscule. (less than five miles a day - take THAT carbon footprint.)

Anyway, I have to do some thinking, because if I don't have it inspected, I'm in trouble, and if I do, I may have to get a new car and I haven't done the research, and we really can't afford it right now. Hmmmmm.

Watched Bi0nic woman - it was...interesting, but I don't think I'll make it destination viewing. I did watch my guilty old-person's pleasure - Dancing w/stars. I may need to take dancing lessons.

I am wearing panty hose today and it made me think back to when I was first working and even more broke - if I had a run in one leg but not the other, I would cut the bad legs off the panty hose and sometimes wear two pair - it had two tops, but only two legs. If they weren't quite the same shade, we'd "stew" them in hot water for about 15 minutes, and they would all become about the same color. How is that for frugal??? I noticed that this pair - which is actually pretty old - a few years maybe?? - anyway, I noticed it has a small hole that isn't yet noticeable, but I promised myself I would throw the whole pair away tonight after the event I have to go to.

Spouse is tired but relieved he got his grant application in. I talked with my sister - she was doing great - she has a week's vacation by herself, and then a mini-cruise in October. I am jealous. I talked with my brother's girlfriend/myfriend who does in fact, have to get her gall bladder out. Don't know when, but soon. She said my mother is going to go and take care of her since her own mother won't come down. I was good, I didn't tell her my mother wouldn't come up and take care of me when I had mine out because she was on a cruise, AND she demanded that I not have surgery while she was on a cruise. Of course I acquiesced and delayed it even though I had been in some pain for a few months. But I'm not bitter. Much. And I will be pissed if my mother cancels her trip up here at the end of the month to take care of her. You know, because I'm mature and my needs must come first.

Anyway, that was a few years ago, and the surgery wasn't that bad. I think I went back to work after three or four days like an idiot.

Awards event tonight - I'm the stand-in for the college president because the board meeting starts tonight. Then tomorrow begins the homecoming activities through Sunday. I'm counting the minutes until Sunday afternoon.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!