Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:46 a.m. - 2007-09-17
No written recipes
The weekend ZOOOOOOMED by again. Friday night I took spouse and Andy out for dinner in celebration of my first paycheck from the new job. (We get paid in the middle of the month.) We had Mexican food at our favorite place, but I was so sick in the middle of the night, and I didn't even eat half of my dinner (but I may have eaten a whole basket of chips and salsa by myself...). Anyway, after dinner we went to the grocery store so I could get stuff for breakfast the next day - a friend I hadn't seen in about two years was coming over and I promsied to fix breakfast/brunch. I made home-made carrot muffins, fruit salad (yummy, yummy...) cheesy eggs (scrambled eggs with parmesan cheese) and sizzled ham. It was yummy and we didn't have to eat lunch! The visit was nice - we caught up. I was afraid she was going to tell me that her husband left her, but it turned out that he had been between jobs for quite some time. He is an auto mechanic for American cars, and with the slump in sales, there is also a slump in repairs. Her kids are great - and we caught up on everything. I hope to see her again before the holidays are in full-swing. Saturday afternoon Andy had a friend over and I did some cooking prep and laundry. Saturday night we had home-made pizza and salad. I am currently addicted to my home-made ranch dressing. That can't be good.

Saturday night we watched something and I can't even remember; and Sunday morning, Andy and I were up early and went to church, picked up breakfast sandwiches and came home to read the papers. I decided since it was coolish to roast a chicken, so I did a rub for that, roasted some tomatoes for a sauce later this week and made some Indian style green beans for dinner tonight. Last night we had the chicken (the rub was parsley, basil, garlic and olive oil under the chicken skin), baked potatoes and sauteed spinach. Tonight is Indian-vegetarian patties, garlic naan (bread) and the Indian green beans I made yesterday.

We have cub scouts tonight.

Andy came with me to work the booth at the downtown Harvest Festival and we had a good time. My timing was pretty good because the college president and her husband came by and chatted very briefly.

I think something might be going on with my parents. I asked my folks if they would come up in November for my 50th (yes FIFTIETH) birthday. Unfortunately, my birthday is near Thanksgiving and they prefer not to participate in the madness of travel over that holiday - I don't blame them. So I suggested they come in early November instead. My father offered to pay for spouse and I to go to Miami to the hotel we stayed at for part of our honeymoon if we came for Thanksgiving and they would watch Andy. I don't want to go away over Thanksgiving either; and if I did go down, I wouldn't want to leave everyone to go away. Isn't that the whole point of Thanksgiving to be together???

Anyway, my father is now offering that if we come down over Thanksgiving, he would pay for us to go away to the resort near their house, but I don't think he understands that we want to stay with them and hang out for the holiday if we were to come down.

And my mother is telling Andy to tell us how much he wants to come down to Florida for Thanksgiving. No guilt there eh?

If they don't want to come up, they can just tell me. I told them we could do something in January or February when it would be less crazy. I have to figure this out. Also, my mother is acting wierd again, though she is going out at least every other day. She was doing so well when she was up here, maybe it is just a little regression.

This week: Cub Scouts tonight; Golf tournament on Wednesday - all afternoon for me guarding a hole. Thursday is also something, but I forget what it is, and Friday I am in an all-day seminar that the president wants me to go to. Oh - Thursday morning I have meetings starting at 7 a.m. That's what it is. Friday night I am cropping, and this weekend we only have to see the in-laws. So far, no work nor other commitments. YAY! I am so looking forward to sleeping in!!!

On Friday afternoon, the PResident asked me to do a special project for her and I started it over the weekend. We are unveiling a new 7 year strategic plan, and once the trustees approve it later this month, we are rolling it out to the campus community. That's what I am now in charge of. I've got a week to pull it together, and I have a plan to write before this afternoon.

I think for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!