Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:40 a.m. - 2007-09-04
The week continues
Tooooozday - Andy is off to school; spouse is off to work and my parents are hanging out at our house starting to pack. My aunt and uncle left last night after dinner - we had chicken braesole (chicken breasts pounded thin and layered with a bit of bread crumbs prosciutto, some lean sausage and spices, rolled, wrapped in kitchen plastic and poached until cooked. We made a big pot of zucchini, tomatoes and onions to go with it, and some corn. Very yummy, few leftovers. Then for dessert, my mother made bread pudding (yuck - I HATE bread pudding, but we had leftover home-made bread; and a chocolate cake.) I had cake. Very yummy. In fact, I hope to have a piece tonight. We'll see if any is left, because I went to bed before my parents, and there was half a cake left, and this morning, not so much.

It was fun but difficult with so many adults in the house who feel they have control. David was a little testy. And my mother and aunt drank two bottles of wine, so I was kinda worried. But I just went to bed around 10 and that was that.

I miss my parents when they go, but I know I get territorial sometimes when my father starts telling me how to do things, or what I should be doing at work or at home. I know he does this to feel useful and I try to take it in that spirit. I know they aren't getting any younger, but still it can get on my nerves.

Andy is going to a red sox game tonight - his first (I don't believe I've ever been to one before...) The neighbors are taking him.

Not sure what we'll be up to tonight - if I can find lobsters, I'll order some for dinner. If not, we'll have leftover braesole, turkey, restaurant doggie bags, etc.

So many memories and feelings rushing back being on this campus - I see the faces of the new students and their enthusiasm and uncertainty. So much will change and open up for them, but (at least for me) it was a wonderful and scary time.

Oh - we bought andy a baseball glove yesterday - he is so excited about it. He had outgrown his old glove and has been asking for one for some time. We thought he could take it to the game tonight just in case there were fly balls!

And for now - that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!