Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:14 a.m. - 2007-09-03
Working Monday
Laboring Monday Dance.

I am so weary - worked Saturday for 4 hours and Sunday for about 5 hours and I am really physically tired. The International students came in on Friday and I had lunch with them Friday afternoon. Five of them have never eaten Italian food, so I'll be making dinner for them in a few weeks. Four of them chimed in and said they had never eaten lobster. We'll figure that one out later. I love lobster, but I haven't been able to afford any for a while.

Anyway - Saturday was tied up doing some Media stuff, then waiting for my aunt and uncle to check in. I took my parents out for breakfast, did some quick grocery shopping and errands, then went to work. My Aunt and Uncle showed up around 4 and we had dinner - I roasted a turkey on the rotissery, baked some potatoes and made a salad. We had pie for dessert from the apple/fruit stand we stopped at in the morning. Sunday I went to church early with Andy and my father; then got dressed and went to work - I met families who had brought aunts, uncles and grand parents to move their children into their dorms. I saw 42 inch flat screen teevees, more small refrigerators than I've ever seen in one place, and tons of bed linens in every imaginable color and pattern.

It was quite a parade of consumerism. Us older people mused about what we took to college in the 70s: suitcase of clothes (mostly jeans and cords); clogs, a manual typewriter and maybe a poster or two. And. That. Was. It.

Harumph.

I watched as most of the parents fell into two groups: The "Hallelujah" he's out of the house group - or the trembling lip, following the kid into her orientation meeting group. (We had to ask about a dozen parents to leave - politely.)

There were families from Nebraska and Colorado, but for the most part, most students come from within a 50-miles radius, so they'll be home next weekend.

Nearly every student had a cell phone plastered to his/her ear. It was an interesting new view. I wonder if it was a security blanket.

At orientation, I saw the lonely ones, near tears; I saw the popular ones who already knew other people in the class and they stuck together like velcro; and I saw the ones figuring out which they were...would they venture and reach out to someone new? Would they sit by themselves and choose to wear black tomorrow?

At the end of the day I came home, and we went out to dinner. I had major cow - there was a steak special at our favorite restaurant and my father and uncle treated spouse, Andy and me to dinner. It was yummy. I fell asleep around 8:30, and finally went to bed around 9. My feet and knees were so sore from tromping around campus and taking pictures.

Today is more of the same - returning students coming back; some orientation lectures and I'll bang out a story for our campus magazine. I'm going to try and go home for lunch.

Tomorrow, everyone goes back to their routines, except for my parents. They have one more day on this visit, and I know I'll miss them. This was a nice long visit. I know, Andy will be sad Wednesday night. I will keep an extra watch on my little pumpkin.

This weekend we go camping with the cub scouts Saturday over Sunday. Sunday we see the in-laws. Such a relaxing weekend. Not.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!