Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:41 a.m. - 2007-08-31
Friday
I would like the melancholy to stop. Now. Busy day yesterday, but I still feel like I'm not accomplishing much except establishing relationships and expectations. I really, really hate being up here in the third floor, and today, my staff is off, so I'm all by myself. I have a 10 a.m. meeting and a noon meeting, and I plan on walking to the town common after the noon meeting and meeting my parents at the farmers market (five little stalls of veggies and two of earrings.)

Spouse and I met Andy's teacher yesterday. She seems good - seems to have a sense of humor, is old enough to have experience, but not old enough to be bitter about teaching as many of the other teachers at his school are. She had organized a meeting for parents last night laying out her expectations of students and families. Sounds good, and Andy will be doing alot of reading and writing to get ready for middle school. Se admitted that some of the stuff they cover in fifth grade is stuff that she remembers learning as an 8th or 9th grader. (She has children in their 20s).

After the meeting we came home and waited for my brother and parents to call. They were dropping my folks off as they were on the way to their house on the cape. With no invitation. I don't know how they can not feel guilty not asking my parents to come down for the weekend.

Anyway, we waited and waited, and finally around 7:15 they checked in and were just getting on the highway (they were supposed to drop my parents off around 5:30 or 6 but it turned out that their daughter wanted to go swimming, so everything is delayed.) So then there was a mad flurry to figure out what they wanted to do for dinner, and we ended up at the little junky Chinese food buffet in the center of town. Then everyone split up and we came home with my parents. They are hanging out today - I left them my car and spouse dropped me off at work.

Did I already complain that I have to work all weekend? Saturday - International students; Sunday - new students; Monday - returning students. But they give us the Wednesday before Thanks giving off in exchange.

What else? I had a nice lunch with a friend yesterday. Andy seems to be liking school, but I'm afraid he's going to have some melancholy of his own when my folks leave next week. He will have been with them more than a month at that point, and we had been with them for nearly two weeks in July when we went to Alaska. I'm anxious about that. Lucky boy inherits depression from both of his parents.

So I'm doing a working happy Friday dance today.

Happy Weekend! And that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!