Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:30 a.m. - 2007-08-13
Lots of things in three days
Well, as usual - I'm asking myself where the weekend went???!!! I'm all packed, and heading out to the airport this morning. I should be landing around 3:30, then spouse and I will get an early dinner (We're calling it Lupper in honor of my brothers who named it that about 30 years ago); and then home to laundry and getting ready for work tomorrow.

For me, this is a week of transitions. First, I'm transitioning out of Florida and leaving Andy for a week. I'm getting a few homesick vibes from him, but I know my parents will be showing him a great time, and I am so grateful for them to do this for Andy. It was their idea! They may head up to my sister's for a day or two, but I'm not sure. Mom has been making a list with Andy of all the things they want to do.

Let's see what did I do this weekend? Friday, I ran errands with my Mom and we had a really nice time doing mundane things. I never made it to the mall to go shopping because a) I had no big hankering to, and b) I am too big right now for new clothes; and c) we are broke. We may go shopping when my mother comes next week.

Friday afternoon, my brother and hisgirlfriend/myfriend came and we went out for dinner, but at the moment, I can't remember where - oh yah, my Florida friend came over so the five of us went out to a fish place on the water and sat outside (HOT!) but I had hogsnout snapper with a really nice butter/wine sauce and some asparagas. We did not have dessert as my brother and his girlfriend are on a low-carb diet right now, so we went in search of low-carb ice cream and ended up at the grocery store and brought stuff home. We hung out, they left for the hotel they booked (very nice, ocean front, luxury room) and we waited for my parents to come home from their event (a combination memorial mass for mothers and a wedding - very typical of my mother's friend who organized it.) My parents were the only non-family invited!

Saturday we hung out, went to the pool, and then prepared my brother's girlfriend's birthday feast: We made Sicilian stuffed artichokes - low-carb and regular recipes; gorgonzola salad, roasted veggies, shrimp and crab legs. I just ate salad and artichokes since I'm not always a big fan of crab legs, but these were quite tasty, and Andy ate many of them.

Then we played "catchphrase" and the girls won!

Sunday, we had brunch with my brother and his girlfriend/myfriend (gotta find a better name than that); and they headed home - we went to the pool and hung out. I packed, then we went to dinner at one of my favorite restaurants and I had lamb chops and the most amazing salad bar!

Came home, lost at cards with my mother, did some laundry and went to bed. And here we are - waiting to leave for the airport in an hour or so.

Did I already say this is my last week of work at my current job? Then I have a week off (my parents are coming up next Monday) and I start my new job t he Monday after that.

I had a really nice visit with my family - another "no fights, no snarkiness" visit. Maybe we're just too old to establish our territories, or maybe we've finally grown up now that we're all in our 40s.

And for now, that's all I got. Also, a bit surprise now that Rove is leaving!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!