Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:50 p.m. - 2007-08-10
Greetings from the sunshine state
Happy, Happy Friday Dance from Flora Dora - even though I am quite tardy. Sorry. Had a good flight yesterday with Andy. Spouse drove us to the airport at 5 a.m. for an 8 a.m. flight, waited nearly an hour and a half in the security lines - I'm not complaining - I want them to check EVERYTHING, then got on our flight sitting behind a very sad and sick baby who cried the entire flight - again - not complaining, just felt bad for her and the poor guy next to her.

My folks look good - my mom is feeling great. We had Cuban food for lunch, and were so full we didn't bother with dinner. Took Andy to the pool and swam for an hour - rather he swam, chased pennies under water, threw a ball, swam over the deep end, jumped in several times, made friends with a four year old, and I just sort of floated.

My Mom and I got up and walked about two miles along the beach at 6:15 a.m. It was already in the high 80s, and quite humid, got home, drank a gallon of water, and hung out for awhile. Then she and I hit COSTCO and the craft store and I brought home Cuban food for lunch. Andy and my father hang out, made pudding, played cards and did a small project involving moving some pictures and toys around.

My brother and his girlfriend/myfriend came for the weekend. It is her birthday and they're staying at a very nice hotel down the road on the beach. My mom is making them dinner tomorrow in honor of the birthday. Marinated lamb I think. They are on low-carbs, so no cake. Damn. I may make them an atkins-recipe cheesecake if I'm motivated.

Hit the craft store and got some things for two projects I'm working on - a bookmark commemorating the Alaska trip - I bought some bone beads in Ketchikan, and that gave me the idea to make book marks or book thongs. Then I found some other carved beads from the area and today I found some blue glass beads that look like the glaciers. I also found some charms that look like spoons and forks in honor of the meals on the cruise ship. Who knows if I'll figure it out in time.

I'm meeting my friend who I haven't seen since Christmas. We made plans to get together before I knew my brother was coming, so we're all going out to dinner-- My parents have plans for a mass and dinner in honor of everyone's dead mothers. I know, sounds crazy, but it is very typical (and nice) of one of my mother's friends who organized this. I asked Mom if she wanted me to go and she said "nope." And I took her at her word.

Don't know what's up for tomorrow - besides cheese cake making. Andy was a bit bored today, but next week is all about him, so I don't feel to bad.

My cold is getting better and I'm really thankful that my ears did not stay blocked up for days. WHEW!

ALSO - got my niece's and nephew's Christmas present, so I can wrap it and leave it here! YAY!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!