Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:06 a.m. - 2007-07-31
Issues
Still whirling a bit from yesterday. Made a Thai shrimp salad for dinner - rice noodles, broccoli, summer squash, grated carrots, sweet onion, tomato, Thai basil, cilantro (sorry Jane), red and green peppers, shrimp and a dressing of lime juice, sweet chili sauce and fish sauce. Very delicious. Even Andy ate some.

Today we have a reporter from NPR covering the week long program we put together on @utism in a general education classroom. Very cool.

And what else? I have been watching H3ll's kitchen of late, as do my niece and nephew in Florida. I called to check in with them, and asked my six and a half year old niece who she thought would win. "Well Aunt Pattypat, who do YOU think should win?" I told her I thought Rock should probably win. And she told me "No. I don't think so. He has issues with his temper." She is six. And a half.

Just booked tix to take Andy down to see my folks for a week. (I'm just going for a long weekend, he's staying another five or six days.)

I'll miss spouse, but I think he'll like the alone time.

I think my mother has decided she likes me again. I know she always loves me, sometimes I'm not sure if she likes me though.

And here is this week's parenting thought: How do I "do for" Andy, but still instill in him a sense that he can handle challenges? I fight the constant battle of "it is easier to do it myself" rather than letting him do things sometimes. Also, I plot ways that I can protect him from mosquitos that carry triple E or West Nile; I think of ways of keeping him out of harms way - am I making his life too small? Do I worry too much about things that may not happen? I was all fetootsed last night about booking flights, and there was one flight that was only $100 round trip but it had a leg that was on a very small plane so I wouldn't consider it. Am I crazy?

Probably.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!