Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:51 p.m. - 2007-07-30
Commencement
It is late in the day and I am a giant sweat ball. First, a thunderstorm was moving through from 5 to 6 a.m., so I couldn't shower before I left for work (sorry, TMI?); then when I arrived at work and lugged in the 30 lbs of ice and a cooler we need for a program we're putting on this week, we realized that the office had no power, not network, no lights and consequently no air conditioning. It was already 84 degrees and really humid at 7:30 this morning.

And then, I was supposed to meet with my boss to give my notice, only she cancelled our 9 a.m., and I couldn't even print out my letter of resignation. The meeting finally happened at 11 a.m.

It was odd. I don't think she was surprised. I said my piece. (It's not me it's you - oh wait, it's not you, it's me.)

And then word slowly filtered around the office. So it has been a bizarre day. But now it is done. My last day of work here is August 17.

So the weekend:

Went to the farmers market and got great basils - thai, Italian, purple; and mint and chives. Also lemon cucumbers, green zebra tomatoes and an apple pie for spouse.

Friday night we saw the new Potter movie with the neighbors, and the rest of the weekend, I was kind of a slug. Saturday the offer letter finally came. Saturday night, spouse and I went out to eat while Andy played at a friend's house; Sunday - church, groceries, more laundry and a nap. I felt so guilty about the nap.

And then it turned into Monday. And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!