Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:26 a.m. - 2007-06-26
Signs of summer
Good grief I'm getting boring, aren't I. I'm glad to have a period of not too much drama at the moment. Andy practiced his sax for two hours last night. He figured out how to play a song or two, not bad for the first day!

We're going through a heat wave. The humidity lumbered in last night, so we've put on the AC today. I'm in charge of the snacks for a meeting we're having at work this afternoon, so I brought in popsicles - mango, strawberry and banana. I expect to be quite popular at 1 p.m. today.

It is remarkable the number of people who are feeling the relief now that my boss is on vacation this week. Except she has called three times on Monday. Hmmmmm.

Last night we had Indian food that our friend made for us: Rice pillau (with nuts, herbs and spices); tandoori chicken legs; and cauliflower and paneer (home-made cheese.) It was quite tasty, and there are no leftovers.

Tonight we're having cold oven fried chicken from a WW recipe I found online. I made it last night and also roasted some salmon for another WW salad recipe we're having on Wednesday - Salmon taboulleh salad.

Tonight we're having a friend over for dinner so we've got the oven fried chicken, store-bought potato salad, a cold broccoli lemon salad (broccoli and lemon zest cooked in the microwave with a bit of olive oil) and home-made gaspacho, (tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, red and green peppers, garlic, parsley, carrot, cilantro, tomato juice and a bit of vinegar and salt. Schmuch in the food processor. Thin with tomato juice or V8 and a splash of olive oil if you like, and serve with fresh croutons, chopped cucumber, chopped peppers and chopped tomatoes to garnish.)

Have I said that I love being a meal or two ahead prep-wise? Tomorrow all we have to do is assemble the rest of the salmon salad and we're done.

Andy has a playdate this afternoon at a friend's who has a pool which will be nice when the temp hits 96 degrees as it is expected to do.

My brothers booked our tours in Juneau for next month. We're doing a helicopter tour of the glaciers. (Pray for me) and a whale watch. I'm not sure if I'm going to do the whale watch. I am exceedingly susceptible to motion sickness, and I think that might be pressing my luck. We'll see. Andy and spouse are doing both.

We still have to book the train trip in either Skagway or Ketchikan, and I believe you can do gold panning on one of them, so I think the kids would like that.

And where was "creature comforts" last night??? I am bummed!

Otherwise, that's all I got. Oh also the ice cream truck made an appearance this weekend. It is now officially summer on the street.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!