Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:02 a.m. - 2007-06-19
A soleful matter
How could I forget one of Saturday's activities? On the way home from the in-laws, we stopped to pick up a sport coat at N0rdstr0ms that I had gotten for spouse (that he had picked out and will now be his father's day, anniversary, birthday and St. Swithen's day presents for the next 5 years). Anyway, I tried on some sandals - the young lady was very nice and found some wide ones (I have fred flintstone feet) and I found a pair I liked and they fit. I asked her to ring them up, and I wasn't paying attention, and when I got home, I realized that they were $187. One. Hundred. Eighty. Seven. DOLLARS! They are so going back. I just cannot justify spending that much on anything (except maybe twice or three times that for spouse's sport coat.) It is not that I deny myself, but that is a major chunk o'change. I even tried wearing them around the house and they aren't very comfortable, so I can't even justify the cost by saying they make my feet feel great. Guess where we'll be going this weekend? A festival o'returns.

Andy got his own email account yesterday. I set it up for him and let him know that he was not to give out the address to anyone without asking me or spouse first. He is very excited.

He also had his first day of camp and loved it. One of his favorite friends was there. Spouse dropped him off at 10, and by 10:05 he was in the pool with his friend. He goes back today and is psyched.

What else? I was going to make a Thai beef salad for dinner using Sunday's leftover steak, but after getting my stitches out (the dermatologist stuff last week) and doing something for spouse, I was too pooped, so we picked up subs (or grinders as they are called here) and called it a night. Tonight we will have the Thai salad.

Lettuce
chopped tomatoes
red or green or yellow pepper cut into strips
shredded carrot
thinly sliced vidalia or other sweet onion
juice of two limes
chopped peanuts
fish sauce
1 tsp sugar
any other veggies you have lying around


Slice the steak (or chicken or tofu) thinly or in bite sized pieces. Mis the vegetables and meat together. Stir the lime juice, 1 T of fish sauce and sugar together and pour over salad. Toss. Add the chopped peanuts. Eat it all up.

If you want to be fancier, you can also mix in cooked rice noodles or ramen noodles.

Yup - that's what we're having for dinner.

I'm eskeert of the helicopters. Should I take a helicopter ride to the glaciers in Alaska?

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!