Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:48 a.m. - 2007-06-18
Do you need more detail than this?
What a nice weekend, though I can hardly keep my eyes open. Friday's activity went very well, it lasted two more hours than I expected, so I didn't get home until around 1. Then I changed, and spouse, Andy and I went out for lunch, did some grocery shopping, and I took Andy to get his father's day present for spouse. Friday night we went with the neighborhood to the drive-in and saw Shrek the third. It was great, but Friday night was a little cold, and Andy apparently is going through a stage I've noticed in other boys of denying that the temperature will ever drop so all he'll want to wear is shorts. I talked him into longer pants and a different shirt, but he was still cold, and fortunately one of the neighbors took pity and gave him a blanket.

Saturday I got up early to get started on the laundry and cleaning, and then we headed out to see the in-laws and take them to lunch. We gave FIL his father's day present - binoculars and a framed picture of him with his new granddaughter that I had taken. I like it because everything around him is in motion and a bit blurry, but FIL and the baby are in perfect focus and very still. I have no clue as to why the picture came out that way, but I printed it in black and white so it is kind of cool. Anyway, rather than reading the instructions on the binoculars, FIL decided to try and put the eyepieces and something else together himself, and then started complaining that it was broken or something. Heaven forbit that someone ACTUALLY READS THE DIRECTIONS! Then we took them to lunch where they complained that the service was slow (it wasn't.) Finally after the fifteenth complaint, I asked them where it was that they had to be? But in the nicest possible way...Ugh.

MIL said we should probably get going so FIL could watch some race or golf tournament on the teevee. I was glad to get out of there, so we picked up some groceries, then got home and I started grilling some of the vegetables for spouse's father's day brunch. He requested steak and eggs, grilled veggies, pie and coffee cake. He thought it would be a simple meal.

I did zucchini, summer squash, asparagas and garlic; then made a key lime pie - very easy recipe.
1 graham cracker crust, 1 can sweetened condensed milk, one tub of whipped topping, 4 limes, pinch of salt.

Mix juice and zest from four limes with the condensed milk and a pinch of salt. Fold in half of the whipped topping. Milk will seem runny at first, but will thicken considerably. Spoon the mixture into the pie shell and freeze for 2-4 hours. When ready to serve, cover the top of the pie with the rest of the whipped topping.

Then I made a cinnamon bread, marinated the steaks, cleaned the kitchen and diningroom, set the table and went to bed. Sunday morning we did church, I made bloody mary mixer, hulled berries and got the egg things ready. Spouse wanted over-easy eggs with his steak; I made scrambled eggs with boursin cheese, fresh herbs and truffle oil for the company and me, and the younger kids had scrambled eggs plain. Andy of course wanted parmesan cheese mixed into his.

So the menu was:

Grilled vegetable antipasto (asparagas, zucchini, summer squash, roasted garlic) with basil
Sliced tomatoes with basil and vinaigrette
Cinnamon bread
Fresh berries
Mimosas (OJ and champaign)
Bloody Marys
Seventeen thousand kinds of eggs
Key lime pie
Cookies for the kids

All-in-all, everything turned out great, but I was tired by 2 when the company left. Our neighbor's daughter was over so she and Andy were pretty much entertained, and I cleaned up and took a 45 minute nap before we were heading out to our concert with Pink Martini.

We really enjoyed it - the music is like being in a 50s Cuban night club, though they sing and compose songs in Italian, Portugese, Arabic, French and English.

Spouse found on-street parking which saved us about $20 bucks; and we were fairly full from brunch, so we stopped for a nosh and had some falafel and baba ganoush appetizers before the concert.

I know I am getting old, because instead of being entertained by a youngish couple who insisted in dancing (badly) to the concert music, I was just annoyed that they were getting in everyone's way, especially the servers. (At Symphony Hall, they set up little tables and chairs on the main floor so you can get drinks and apps during the concert.)

The concert went for about 2 and a half hours, then we made our way back from the big city and got home a bit after eleven, just in time to have Andy come down because he heard loud thunder. He HATES thunder. The sitter drove herself home, and I set the alarm for 5 and you are pretty much all caught up. Spoke to my Dad, spoke to my brother, spoke to my sister, but didn't get to speak to my other brother for Father's day. He had his fax on so I couldn't even leave a message.

And there you have it. It's all I got for now.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!