Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:04 a.m. - 2007-05-11
And they closed my favorite shop.
Happy tired, happy Friday Dance. Spouse had his "long service" dinner last night - he's been at his university for more than 15 years. Did I already say that his gift choices were a pen or a waffle iron? Really. What's up with that? Do I read gender stuff into that? I won't. I'm too tired to parse that whole situation.

We sat with other colleagues in his department for the dinner (tilapia picata, smashed potatoes and badly roasted veggies, but a triple chocolate cake that made up for it all...)

It is always a bit painful for me to return to that campus. And the people who were responsible for the decimation of my department three years ago would not make eye contact with me. They are still there. They are still not meeting their goals, but drawing large salaries. But I'm not bitter. Much.

I did see some people who remembered me, who said all the nice things, that it wasn't the same, that they weren't doing great work like we all did. Time to be done. I usually think I am done with it, but I guess there was a little more toothpaste in the tube.

Also I am afraid of Kayaking.

Here is another thing. Who is reading pages and pages of this journal? Any chance you could leave a note or a comment?

Spouse is working on my mother's day gift. I asked him not to give me stuff. I asked for him to replace our bedroom door, and to clean out the back yard so we could sit out there this summer. He is doing both, though I don't think the door will be installed by Sunday. At least it is getting done.

This weekend we are going to see our niece in a dance recital about two hours away. We were invited a couple of months ago. We're looking forward to it, but when we called to ask for details (like where and when) it was a bit inconvenient for them. We'll see what happens tomorrow. My personality (must plan everything) clashes with my brother's and his wife's (haven't gotten that far yet).

It has been hot and summery. I haven't done much cooking this week either with the conference and proposal writing schedule.

I think my fever broke yesterday, I'm feeling a little better.

And that's all I got. Happy mother's day. Honor those who have nurtured you even if they aren't your relatives.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!