Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:35 a.m. - 2007-04-17
Stewing and crockpots
Back to work, though the longish weekend was nice. Yesterday, Andy and I hung out, then he was invited to a friend's house for the afternoon, so I used the time to sort through more piles o'papers, do more laundry and fill out forms for summer camp, fall after school care, etc. I also found a pile of bills that didn't get paid stuffed behind the bill bin, so I was all kinds of angry.

I was already anxious because of the W. VA Tech shootings. I can't imagine how those families feel, how the students feel. There was one mother in our state who couldn't reach her sun as of 11 last night, and the school had no information for her. I just don't understand how they could not know if her son was dead or alive.

This morning, she finally heard from the school around 4 a.m., and she must now prepare her son's funeral.

Spouse teaches at a university similar to where the shootings take place, only not quite as big population wise or physically, and Andy was already asking questions about his father's safety at school.

More to worry about.

On the good news front, spouse got a wapping big raise (highly technical term from a highly technical university.) He had been extremely underpaid over the last 10 or so years, and someone finally went to bat for him, so he got a huge raise, effective in July. He is so proud, and should be. I took him out to dinner, and he, Andy and I celebrated.

It is still raining here. We are told not to expect the sun until maybe Friday. We haven't seen it since last Saturday. I suspect I'll be feeling mildewy by tomorrow.

Today, Andy is at day-camp. Tonight we're having a crock pot sort of paella. I hope it turns out, because I'm making it up as I go along: I had one chicken breast in the freezer, a small chorizo sausage and 8 lonely frozen shrimp. So this morning I chopped up a large red pepper, some cilantro, 8 (yes 8) cloves or garlic, two medium onions, the chicken breast and dumped them in the crockpot with a can of tomatoes, chicken stock, cumin, adobo seasoning, some saffron the chorizo and rice. Keep your fingers crossed that it turns out.

And that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!