Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:45 a.m. - 2007-03-20
Usually I get it
Good, productive day yesterday - after doing a bazillion miscellaneous tiny projects in the morning and eating half a tuna melt with a colleague, four of us went to one of our schools to do prep work on a brochure we're putting together. The school is one of a very few in the country that specialize in pediatric brain injury. The children are sweet and heartbreaking and surprising. One came up to our group and had the most intense stare. He came up to each of us looked at each of us so seriously - like he was seeing some past life in our eyes. Then when he came to me he gave me a hug and said "kiss, kiss, kiss" so softly and we kissed each other on the cheeks. He must have been 12 or 13 - so sweet and so sad.

The last class we visited had two little bubbly boys who want to be on american idol and gave us their dance routines. They talkedamileaminute and were so glad for an audience. It was fabulous. They must have been 7 or 8.

And I count my blessings.

Last night was our cub scout pack meeting - the speaker backed out at the last minute, so one of the den leaders is also in the National Guard and she brought MREs, first aid kits, give-aways, uniforms and talked about her experience in the service. They raffled off a few small uniform shirts and Andy one one.

On the one hand, I know this woman and she is a surprise. I was commenting to spouse, that if I hadn't gotten to know her through scouts, I probably would not have bothered to get to know her, yet she is someone I've come to like and admire. Seeing her in her uniform made me want to start singing the Star Spangled Banner, and yet I so thoroughly disagree with our military policies. I get it. I get that I can support our troops and be against our military actions. I think at the root of it, I am against all military actions. But knowing this woman makes me think over.

So Andy today is all about the army. Star wars apparently will be set aside for a few moments. I'll be interested to see how long that lasts.

Last night we had tomato soup and grilled cheese bread. Tonight we're having blue fish. I mentioned to a neighbor who works at a fish store that I'd love to buy some blue fish, and though her store doesn't carry it, she ordered it and delivered it last night, so we're having it for supper today! YAY! That was such a sweet thing to do.

I hear more people filtering into the office. I love the hour and a half I usually have to myself. There are two other early regulars, but they stay in their zone and I stay in mine for the most part.

Watched a bit of my guilty pleasure - d@ncing w/the stars - and it was interesting. I recorded the biography of my secret girl crush N1gella L@wson, so I'll have that to watch this week.

And that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!