Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:46 a.m. - 2007-03-13
Salad bar
How did I miss that yesterday was national "Nap" day? It is always the Monday after the switch to daylight savings time. I'm thinking I might need to celebrate it on another day this week.

Yesterday was all about the crazy. Apparently a governor of a northeastern state is offering grant money for what we do to all of the state's school systems, but all of the schools waited until yesterday to contact us about it and the grant is due on Thursday. (It was released last November, and we were already working with a number of schools on partnering.) So yesterday I received 7 calls from schools who want a proposal by last week. Hmmm.

I also picked up shower gifts for the woman going out on maternity leave in our clinical department. I will really miss her because she is amazing, but I am hopeful she is coming back at the end of June. I had to get all greens and yellows because she does not yet know the gender of her baby, and apparently all of the stores have discontinued any kind of non-gender specific clothing. It was all trucks and pinks. Not that you can't put a truck motif on a baby girl, you just can't do it on a newborn baby girl I think.

Chicken stir fry was good last night and I've no leftovers. Tonight we're going out for a cheap eat dinner because Andy requested it as a reward for getting such a great report card. I know, I know, we shouldn't be using food as a reward, but I kind of think (yes I'm a bad parent) that it is a reward for me because then I won't have to cook. Tomorrow we'll have the meatloaf.

Spouse had his f irst day back at work. He was kind of hackey at the end of the day, so I'm a b it worried about today when he actually has to teach.

New favorite breakfast: fresh strawberries, Greek yoghurt and a bit of honey. Oh. My. I feel like I should be prancing in a meadow wearing a diaphenous fabric of some sort.

Why is there so much styrofoam on the sides of 95 and 495 this week? Pink. And white.

Today we are having a "Stone Salad" party. Remember the book "Stone Soup?" where the soldiers arrive in a town and the villagers tell them there is no food, so they go about making stone soup from rocks and river water, and the villagers each contribute an ingredient to make an amazing soup?

Well the woman who works with me is celebrating a birthday and since she just made her WW goal, she decided she didn't want to go out to lunch, so I suggested the Stone Salad idea and it is a go. There are 8 of us bringing ingredients. I have lettuce, tomatoes, raisins, gorgonzola and home-made bread. Others are bringing olives, feta, peppers, cukes, edamame, chick peas, dried cranberries, chicken and dressing. Should be tasty.

Also - for dessert - strawberries and angel food cake.

Oh wait -I forgot to write that Andy, his friend and I tried experiments with blue Peeps and the microwave on Sunday. Way kewell.

I think that's all I got for now.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!