Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:11 a.m. - 2007-02-01
Virus or allergy?
My poor Andy - around 1 p.m. yesterday, spouse called to say that Andy was developing some hives and a rash. I told him to call the doctor immediately! Finally the doctor's office told him to bring Andy in. A different doctor looked at him, changed his medicine from amoxicillin to zithromax, gave him some hydrocortizone cream and sent them home. When I got home, spouse and I gave him the medicine and then we ate dinner. About 45 minutes later, I noticed that Andy was getting blotchy and itchy. He had a major hive reaction, so we called the doctor - after several back and forths between the nurses covering, the doctors and whatever, a nurse called us back, told us to give Andy some benadryl, and said our doctor said to continue on the zithromax. Then she said, "If I were you, I'd call the doctors office again tomorrow." I checked on Andy every 15 minutes from the moment he went to bed until I left for work at 5:30 checking for anaphalyctic shock. Because hives aren't enough for me. He was fine. Doesn't seem to have sprouted any more hives.

So what is it? Is it the virus? Is he allergic to either of the antibiotics? What. The. Hell. I am really worried now.

I'm working a half day so I can be close to home and so that I can get an actual doctor - preferably ANDY's actual doctor to talk to me this afternoon.
So far, Andy's fine, went off to chorus and school.

And of course in the middle of the night between checks, I opened up the anxiety closet and came up with the following:

1. Andy is really alergic to the guinea pig
2. What if he has to wear a medic alert tag and forgets it?
3. How will we deal with the antibiotic thing today?

Yikes.

Tonight there is a mommies' night. It is not our usual set up - one of the mommies, with whom I was not particularly close, moved about a mile away. She and her family came to our New Year's open house, and she told everyone there she has breast cancer. I wasn't there when it happened, and I found out about it just a week or so ago. But I'm not supposed to know. Another neighbor told me in an email. So wierd, so scary. I want to be supportive, but I don't know what to do if I'm not supposed to know. Anyway, she asked if we could have mommies' night at her new house, so we relocated. It will be an interesting night.

My parents should be checking in sometime today - they are back in the U.S. (they were in the caribbean.)

And that's all I got for now.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!