Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:45 a.m. - 2007-01-29
Piggie review
What a weekend! Andy has been sick since Wednesday night, but Friday - lo and behold - he had no fever! So we went out and got the guinea pig cage and accessories; came home and got up the next day to drive an hour to the shelter. Andy immediately fell in love with one piggie - Patches - who had been in the shelter since mid November and was about a year old. We got to know Patches, and they seemed to hit it off (even if the piggie was shy.) We brought him home, set up his cage (and his house, and his food bowl, and his water bottle, and his treat ball, and his cozy, and his hay dispenser...)and he is settling right in. We didn't hold him at all after we brought him home, just listened and watched as he got used to his new surroundings. And then Andy's fever returned and has not left. We have to take him to the doctor today who will likely tell us it is some type of respiratory virus that has to run its course, but the last two nights, Andy has been hacking up a storm and it breaks my heart. We know all the things to do - humidifier, delsym, lots of fluids, etc. I just want my baby to feel better.

We've been keeping his distance from the guinea pig because they are quite prone to respiratory infections. Yikes.

Spouse has been on my very last nerve, but I'm sure we'll get through it.

My parents set sail for a cruise for their 50th anniversary, which is different from the cruise we'll be taking with them this summer to celebrate their 50th anniversary. Sounds like they are having a good time.

Made a yummy stir fry from leftover veggies last night - broccoli, shredded cabbage, carrots, onions, garlic, ginger, cilantro and pea pods. Sliced up some firm tofu and added some Chinese style noodles along with fish sauce, sweet chili sause and a bit of soy. It was very tasty and there are no leftovers. Unfortunately, Andy had no appetite last night.

I'm a little panicked - I just want Andy to get better.

And that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!