Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 a.m. - 2006-12-26
The day after
We had a very nice Christmas - the kids were all thrilled with their presents - Andy must have said at least 100 times how excited he is to be getting a pet guinea pig. He also got a bike from my parents (though they were kind enough to give us money for it and we'll get it when we get back so we DON'T HAVE TO SHIP EVERY THING WE RECEIVED!!!) The post office and I are best buddies now. We've already packed two boxes to send home. My mother's friends came and joined us for dinner which was a protien feast - prime rib (real prime, not just "prime-like" because I think it cost a semester of college to purchase it...) also marinated leg of lamb which we grilled and a roast goose which is my mother's favorite. Andy calls it "feast meat." We had baked potatoes, broccoli with cheese and garlic, green beans with tarragon and butter and crescent rolls from a tub. For dessert we were going to have chocolate fountain, but we were all too tired, so we finished up cookies and home-made key lime pie.

The Christmas eve feast was seven or so fishes - shrimp, stuffed quahogs, stuffed clams, pasta with clams, pancetta and chiles, stone crab claws, snow crab claws and caesar salad. It was very delicious. We went to "midnight mass" which was at 10, but I have to say the service was beautiful - I loved the sermon and the music which included a choir, small orchestra and organ was amazing. Very posh for Catholic standards. Came home, threw the kids into bed, set up all the holiday stuff, stuffed the stockings and got to sleep around 1:30 a.m. Shortly after that, my niece and nephew crawled into bed with my folks giving them a poor nights sleep. Andy slept through - we almost had to wake him up!

What did I get:

A gift certificate for a massage (YAY)
A CD of "Okay Go" my favorite video and song right now (from Andy)
A hand-made penguin fridge magnet (Andy)
Two pair of hand made socks from my mother
A Nordstrom's gift card
A purse made of fabric with fish from my friend (brother's girlfriend)
Assorted christmas decorations
A framed "peanuts" drawing signed by Charles Shultz
A new soft bathrobe
A Christmas watch with penguins

Today we're off to find bins for my parents and other mark-downs. Tomorrow we head to my brother's for a "jungle queen" dinner cruise and Thursday night we're flying back home.

Diaryfriends, I hope you had a wonderful Christmas!

A hui hu marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!