Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:52 a.m. - 2006-12-11
Weekend review
Spouse is okay. He's fine. The doctor says he has the rheumatiz - that he should start gradually with some arm strengthening exercizes. His heart is great! Yay! Happy delayed dance. We started off Friday with cleaning and errands. I know I write about cleaning in this journal, but I have to say, my house never looks immaculate and shiny. And I don't feel like I'm a big cleaner. Anyway, we picked up some clothes for Andy who is outgrowing much of his winter-weight clothing from last year; got some sushi from the grocery store and went to the St@ples to get a free calculator and a collapsing cart so that spouse could haul his stuff (projectors, texts, slides) from class to class without straining his arms any more.

Came home and picked up Andy from his after-school sports program and brought his friend back for a playdate. They hung out while spouse and I continued to excavate boxes from the basement, attic, bedroom, office and closets that supposedly contain Christmas stuff and gifts that we've bought over the last several months. As of this morning, I've found almost everything, but there are still five things missing. Packed another box to ship to Florida, found all the T0ys for T0ts gifts, made a big bag of give-away clothes and housewares for G00dwill and dropped those too. Oh yah, also made 8 dozen shortbread blossoms (shortbread cookies with a ghiradelli chocolate pressed in) for the cookie swap yesterday.

The in-laws are acting up. As soon as spouse called for his weekly planned call I knew something was up. FIL has P0st p0lio syndrome and for the last several years we have offered to help him find a physician who specializes in treatment, especially pain management, but he has said no. Apparently it must be getting worse, because they actually asked us to find out some info, but not through our Rh0de Island contacts (WTH?) which is where they live. Also, Friday is MILs birthday, we already planned (at her request) to have dinner with her on Friday, but now she wants us to come 15 minutes earlier which means Andy would miss his after-school sports. There is no good reason for us to come 15 minutes earlier. She just wants it. Yi.

Okay - enough complaining - fun things this weekend:

1. Knowing that spouse was okay.

2. Making Christmas crafts and cards with Andy for the relatives

3. Hanging the garland over the fireplace and having Andy decorate it with his favorite St@r W2rs and penguin ornaments

4. Making cookies with Andy

5. Taking a drive with spouse and Andy to look for holiday lights and coming across a house that was so outrageously decorated we belly laughed with joy

6. The cookie swap

When I was looking for something in the chest freezer I found a turducken roll I had ordered at least a year ago. So I decided to make that for dinner on Sunday. It was good, but a bit dry. I have enough to have another meal and make a big pot of soup with beans and greens.

This week is going to be crazy.

Tuesday is hair cut and color night
Wednesday is cub scout party night
Thursday is mommies' night out
Friday is in-law dinner
Saturday we're having friends for dinner for his birthday
Sunday - pack, pack, pack
Monday - Cub Scout pack meeting
Tuesday morning 6 a.m. - off to Flora Dora.

This morning's dawn was amazing - roiling colors, even a scenic v of geese.

That's all I got. A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!