Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:39 a.m. - 2006-12-06
Some waste, some progress
Still. So. Sleepy.

Got pics of Andy last night - lugging around a pine branch that fell from one of the taller trees in our yard. I heard it drop over the weekend, making a dark thud late Saturday night after the wind.

So now I have a good holiday pic of Andy to include in the Christmas cards. And I used the digital camera finally.

I made mussels last night - chopped tomatoes, lots of parsley, garlic, basil and a bit of olive oil. After cooking the herbs and garlic in the olive oil I dump all the tomatoes into a deep pot and get it all bubbling. Then I put the mussels in and pull them out as they open. I dump whatever juices there are and cook it back down. Last night I should have probably added a bit of white wine, but I forgot.

Toasted some good bread, rubbed it with garlic and olive oil and dumped the mussels (which I mix back in just before serving) and sauce on top of the bread. It was really good. Next time I would make it a bit more saucy.

Hemmed Andy's pants for next week's concert and play; packed up another box to ship to Florida and did a few more loads of wash. Why do we have so much laundry? Oh yah, all the bedsheets from the sleepovers this weekend.

Today spouse doesn't have to teach, and Andy's got a half-day so t hey are going for hair cuts, and to get Andy's church gift - He wanted to take some things off the giving tree so that he could buy some presents with his own money. He has to buy soap, envelopes and stamps. We'll wrap them up and drop them off at church this weekend.

Andy got his report card last night - he's doing fine, we'll meet with his teacher tomorrow. They have this crazy system that isn't letter driven - there is stuff like

I - introduced to the standard
P - progressing towards the standard
M - meeting the standard
E - exceeding the standard

I do not have much faith in this grading system, since the time Andy was already reading in kindergarten and they wouldn't give him an M or an E because they weren't allowed to give those in the first marking period.

I think they move to a letter grade in middle school, but I'm not sure. Andy is happy, but a bit bored, so I'll have to talk to the teacher about that.

My father is going to make some Santa calls for the children of some of our neighbors and friends. My Dad is a really good Santa, very gentle with kids and they warm up to him. A few of Andy's friends still believe (don't ask me about Andy - I've NO IDEA - sometimes he says he does, sometimes he says he doesn't...) Anyway, my Dad will call them this weekend and that will be that!

Tonight is double cub scouts - I have committee meeting for the pack so my co-den leader will run the meeting tonight which is all about citizenship. Then I have to make room parent calls for the play next week and ask for food donations.

I just wasted an hour on a new project and didn't have all the information I needed. I hate when that happens.

that's all I got for now

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!