Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:31 a.m. - 2006-11-27
holiday recap
What a great weekend! We got so much done, didn't have too many fights, ate great food, saw great friends, resolved an issue or two...

Friday we made it to the black friday sales, got my mother a nintendo (she wants to play the brain game); got a few gifts for Andy, got two web cams, some battery chargers and teacher gifts. Ordered tangerines for the Colorado relatives, ordered my sister's christmas gift, got a gift for my sister to give one of her nieces; went to breakfast and started putting away the fall things and putting up some Christmas decorations. YAY!

Thanksgiving was nice, the turkey (despite my worries) was quite tasty - we got a Kosher brined turkey from Trader Joe's and it turned out well (though I did have to pluck a few feathers from it...)

My MIL made squash with ginger, mashed potatoes, stovetop stuffing and broccoli. I made the turkey, gravy, apple pie and pumpkin cheesecakes. Everything turned out well, and we brought home leftover squash, turkey and pie.

Oh, and Wednesday afternoon I took spouse, Andy, his friend and me to see "Happy Feet" which was a delight, and very different from what I had expected - very nice ecology message and wonderful be tru to yourself message. The boys loved it.

Saturday was more shopping and cleaning. We went to see a friend's daughter sing at their town's holiday stroll, then to their house for tomato soup and bread. YUM! Sunday I finished the laundry, made two turkey divan casseroles - one for me, one for neighborfriend; made a baked pasta casserole, roasted brussels sprouts and squash for the week and paid the bills. I also put away all my summer clothes and pulled out my winter shirts and cords.

Spouse and Andy finished the raking (the leaf man is coming to suck them away today) and they put up our spiral trees with the blinky lights.

Oh, and I also mailed two boxes of presents to Floradora, and the box from the cub scouts to the orphanage in Africa. I am crossing lots of things off the list!!

This week we have family math night, and we have to finish Andy's month-long book project on Harry Potter.

Tonight's dinner - turkey divan - turkey, mushrooms, onions, broccoli, noodles and a home-made cheese sauce baked until the sauce is bubbly and a bit crunchy. Tomorrow is tilapia with lemon and capers and brussels sprouts. Wednesday I haven't figured out yet.

That's all I got for now.

A hui hu marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!