Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:46 a.m. - 2006-10-02
A long week begins
What a weekend! Friday we mostly tended to my brother who has still not passed the kidney stone. After we chided him for not drinking enough liquids, nor letting his doctor at home know what was going on, I pretty much stepped away. I am not good with people wo are unwilling to help themselves even a little.

He finally started drinking more water and OJ. He called his doctor's office. The kind and caring receptionist told him he could come on October 11. So who do they hold emergency visit time for? He called back and they said he could come in on Saturday, only he told them 4 times he wasn't coming back to Florida until Saturday night. They said they might be able to fit him in on Tuesday since they are closed this weekend for the holidays. I think he needs to find a new physician.

But I am not his mother, and he has a girlfriend, and he is 44 years old, so I don't know why I have to be the boss of him.

We went for Mexican food Friday night. It was okay - I think they changed chefs. Saturday, after my brother and his girlfriend left, we went to the in-laws and took them to lunch. It was a pretty day - not so much rain. Then we came home and went right back out for the cub scout pack meeting and annual campfire. Lots of people slept overnight, but not me. I am not into sleeping on the ground in tents with bugs. That's why I'm such a good den leader.

Sunday, we did church, grocery shopping and got ready for my brother and his family to come for lunch, but just before they were supposed to come, he called and siad my niece had been sick all night. He was thinking of coming by himself, but I told him to stay home and relax. We'd get together in a few weeks, so I had Sunday back to myself. Did the laundry, did some picking up, paperwork, nagging, cajoling and cooking. Did I finish the next set of revisions on the freelance projects? I did not. So I have to do that today.

Andy's friend came over and played for a few hours and stayed for dinner - exciting grilled cheese and tomato soup. Tonight is homemade chicken soup - it's simmering in the crockpot as we speak.

Tomorrow is the leftover sauce and meatballs I had prepared for last Thursday, but no one felt like eating (including my brother.) So we have alot left over.

This week is crazy, crazy.

1. I have to finish the revisions on the project
2. I have to work five days this week, since I don't have day-care for next Monday's Columbus Day holiday and spouse doesn't have off.
3. I have a big Cub Scout planning meeting
4. It is Andy's open house at school and I have to bake something for the bake sale.

I'm sure I've already written about my displeasure with this "open house." The teachers aren't actually there. We don't get to review curriculum or what the kids will be doing activity-wise. We just get to "open" our check books. It is a fund-raiser. That's fine. Just call it what it is. Harumph.

That's all I got for now.

Goodnight Moon.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!