Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:21 a.m. - 2006-09-19
Birds on a branch
Okay - working on the anxiety.

I almost forgot to write about three funny things we saw this weekend:

The first was a genuine Stanley Steamer car - it was beautifully restored, puffing away in its own little cloud of steam - a lovely and shiny green.

The second was this little old man walking down the street holding on to a container of chocolate milk and a package of Hostess cupcakes - I recognized the little white squiggle of frosting on the chocolate tops. He just looked so happy.

Sunday morning, Andy and I went to church really early, and as we were walking to church, we saw this low-hanging pine branch with about seven little wrens perfecty aligned on the branch. It looked like a coffee table sculpture from the 50s.

I love church mornings with Andy. He is very good in church and likes to cuddle next to me in the pew. We have a nice little bonding.

My neighbor/friend was upset last night. I could tell as soon as she knocked on the door. She is such a good, kind person and a wonderful friend. And she's had such a rough year. Her father had a series of strokes; there are so many people who lean on her (including me); and her son has had a difficult summer. So we went for a short walk last night. She just needed to talk to someone, and I think she felt better afterwards. Her mother is in denial about how ill her father is which is ironic, since just three years ago, we all thought the mother only had a few months to live, but everyone rallied around her and got her the best treatment, and thank God, she is fine. But she is not a good caregiver despite having been so well cared for by her family. So everytime the father has a set back or a new symptom, she falls apart and it is left to my neighbor/friend to handle it. I know that we do that for our parents, but it just seems that the mother doesn't want to do ANYTHING.

And another elderly neighbor is suffering through her third bout with ovarian cancer and is leaning on neighbor/friend too. So sad.

And that's all I got for now.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!