Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:54 a.m. - 2006-08-28
Summer is ovah
Such a metaphor this weekend. When I got laid off this year, it was just becoming spring - a cold spring, but it has been such a gift to have the summer off, and to try and keep my craziness from taking over and not letting me enjoy this great time with my husband and son in such a wonderful time of year.

And now it is really cold and raw again. Yep - summer's over. I'm so grateful for the time we had, and really, I'd prefer NOT to have to work outside the home, but it's time to go back to work. And back to school. It rained most of the weekend, and we had to wear jackets.

Friday, we finally got back to our home-made pizza routine. And our phone was fixed, so we can get messages now. Friday, I also got a giant handle on the freelance project. Worked on it for a chunk on Saturday, visited the in-laws and then finished the bulk of it Saturday night. Yesterday I spent editing, and last night and today I have to finish the shorter (in length) whitepaper.

Also found out that spouse's SIL is pregnant. She's had two miscarriages, so we're praying, praying, praying. She is nearing 40, and has a very lucrative and successful career. She's 8-weeks along. At first she didn't say anything, but I just looked at her at dinner, and she looked exactly the way I felt (see it IS all about me) when I had dinner with my inlaws 11 summers ago and thought I was dying and getting ready for a hysterectomy. Couldn't keep food down, kept passing out; had an "unusual growth" in my abdomen...and after 5 years of infertility treatments was told I'd never get pregnant. Surprise. I was 8-weeks pregnant at that dinner and didn't know it until the next week.

She and I walked to the bookstore after dinner and I told her my thought. She didn't say anything, and then blurted out that they weren't telling anyone (except their respective parents) but yes, they were 8-weeks along. And she's been sick for 8 weeks, which is actually a good sign.

Silent friend and family came for dinner last night - I made bbq chicken and ribs, but it has been raining so I wimped out and did them in the oven. Also made corn bread and a black bean/corn/tomato/pepper salad with lime and cilantro - very yummy. We had a big salad and topped it off with blueberry pie. It was a nice visit. Spouse of silent friend seems to be in the same work cycle as me, and he just changed jobs too, so we celebrated.

Today we go sell some of Andy's outgrowns to a consignment store - then we go to his open house to see his classroom. He is so nervous this year. He has a new teacher - the one he was assigned has moved to another country. I'm trying not to read anything into that.

My parents are in a bit of a quandry. They are supposed to leave for a trip to Germany, but may have difficulty getting out of Florida thanks to a tropical storm or hurricane. I suggested they come up here today or tomorrow and then can fly out from here. They're deciding what to do today based on weather reports.

My sister seems somewhat settled. Just waiting for a ruling from the judge, but I believe she has been awarded some child support. I'm hoping and praying that she won't have to sell the house to give him half.

And that's all I got for today.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!