Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:42 a.m. - 2006-06-27
pages of change
Monday, monday, monday, monday...Spouse was home, but we took Andy to his first day of day-camp. Fortunately his friend from his afterschool program "possum" was there, and gave him a big bear hug as Andy came in the door. I was so glad for that start to the day for Andy. Wish I'd had a camera. Hit the hardware store so spouse could fix my closet pole and shelf. (That could sound dirty, couldn't it...) Then came home, went through boxes and boxes of stuff, where does it all come from? Re-did my date/book address book which meant weeding out old addresses - so many jobs ago, so many people no longer living, a little catalogue of the last decade of my life. The odd bits of paper and business cards, sueded with age, and envelopes with emails or cell phones scribbled on the back and stuffed into the cover are now in the book with neatly typed labels in 8 point. Of course the computer wouldn't cooperate, but I just ended up piecing the labels together and now I am done. I started with a certain kind of address/date/organizer at one of my first jobs out of college. I had a burgundy/red book. They stopped making that organizer and its refills the year that Andy was born, which I found kind of symbolic; so I changed systems to a f1lof@x about 10 years ago, and got the cheapest book I could find. That was the blue book, though spouse and I still referred to it as the red book. For a few years I used the combination of that and a pda, but the pda would not sync up with our computer at home, so when I was laid off from that job I pretty much stopped using the pda, and went strictly to paper. But I found a new book a few years before that - very handsome, leathery and efficient. I just never made the switch to the new book until yesterday. I wonder what stories this one will bring? Who will still be in there when I make my next book change? Will I still call it the blue book?

Made a tasty quick dinner last night - cod baked with cracker crumbs; fresh zucchini baked with garlic, olive oil and basil; a salad of corn, tomatoes, scallions, olive oil and balsamic vinegar; and fresh strawberries with pound cake for dessert. I had leftover poundcake that I had made for spouse on Sunday. I felt like someone should come interview me about my "farmers-market" dinner. But no one did. Andy had a friend over and he had a serious chow at dinner. Then they went out and played "manhunt" with the rest of the neighborhood kids until 9:30 and they came in ready to be hosed down and fall into bed.

I've got a week to get more resumes out, suitcases packed, rooms cleaned, life organized and family ready to go to Florida. As always, my list is much bigger than time will allow, so I'll get annoyed with myself for not getting more done. But I know that, so it will make a difference. Right? Right?

Today's agenda:

1. Get 10 resumes/applications out
2. Grocery shopping
3. Put away some more winter clothes (though if I procrastinate a few more weeks it will all be moot right?)
4. Pay the bills, do a thank you note.

Did I write about my Cleveland friend's mother who gave me some of her treasure cookbooks this past weekend? Neither of her daughters cook, and she knows that I do, so when we went to visit, she came out with an armful of these local cookbooks put together by clubs and cultural groups that she had used. My favorite is a Slovenian Women's Cultural Union cookbook from 1947 that she had used extensively. I like to leaf through it and imagine what the little splatters are from, and read her lovely handwriting noting what she made and what she and the family thought of it. She wanted to give me her Settlement cookbook which she received as a wedding present, but she hesitated, and I asked her to keep it until my next visit, and if she wanted to give it to me then, I would be happy to have it. It made me a little sad.

So that's it. Tonight we're having salmon and tabboule salad since it is hot, hot, and humid. And hot. Tomorrow is tacos for Andy's friend whose family has become vegetarian, and who asked for meat for dinner. Then we'll go to the concert on the town common.

I can't believe how fast the summer is going already.

A hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!