Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:23 a.m. - 2006-05-09
Knocked down again
I feel like Charlie Brown trusting Lucy to hold the football again. My parents were supposed to come to our house on Sunday, but then announced they were going to their friends' instead. They'd be here on Monday. No problem. Then they announced that they were staying until Tuesday, but that my mother wanted us to meet them "early Tuesday, do some shopping and have lunch, then we could be home to pick up Andy." Great! No problem. Last night, she said she'd call us at 8 to let us know what time to meet them - nice and early, we could shop a little then have an early lunch. No problem. 8 a.m rolls around, 9 a.m. rolls around, 10 a.m. rolls around. No call. So I called. "Oh. We're just having our breakfast. We thought we'd have a late lunch."

I am seething. I take this as yet another reminder that my mother somehow has to make a point. To remind me that I am not all that important. For heaven's sake - I am 48 years old. Haven't I learned that lesson already? All I'm asking for is a call. Just let me know what is happening. Just tell me that your plans have changed.

Of course, now if I bring it up, I'll get a lecture about how hard they try to make me happy. How demanding I am, and for good measure, she'll mention how my siblings also feel that way. I know the pattern. It is not new to me.
And you know what? Of all the siblings, I am the most accomodating. We'll change our plans for them. And I even worked up the courage to check in with my sister and brothers.

My guess is that my mother got shitfaced last night and was pretty hung over and slept in. I don't know. I'm not worthy of a call. THAT was the only message she sent.

Tune in tomorrow for disrespectful theater.

A hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!