Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 a.m. - 2006-04-03
suchaniceweekend
It was such a nice Friday - First, spouse and I walked about a mile and a half, then he and I headed out to my old job, dropped off my keys, garage card and ID, I was able to get a few files off of my computer, saw a few colleagues. Then we went to lunch - a New England chain specializing in law-abiding seafood. It is the only place where I will eat raw clams and oysters, (they test them for contamination/bacteria) and it was delicious. I had a dozen cherrystone clams - briny, delicious, slippery; and a salad with pears, blue cheese and walnuts. Very tasty. Spouse had a seafood antipasto and something else that was large. He also had a piece of key lime tart. It was such a beautiful warm day. Spouse brought my favorite mix CD - the one my brother made for us and it had the perfect spring day songs:

"Me and the Boys" Bonnie Raitt; "Cruisin'" by Al Dimeola; "Birdland" by Weather Report; "Cousin Dupree" by Steeley Dan; "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" by Israel (can't spell his last name, but it is Hawaiian); "Jellyman Kelly" by James Taylor; "Kiko and the Lavendar Moon" by Los Lobos; and several others. I was so happy to be with spouse on a beautiful day and hear music that I rarely listen to and be reminded about how happy and sweet life can be. I started to cry - a leaky cry of joy and allergies. It was just one of those perfect moments and I am grateful to have had it. We got home, picked up Andy early and hung out on the playground for awhile. Then we went to see if we could find pansies and birthday supplies for Andy, after that we came home and Andy played outside with his friends. Spouse and I made the home-made pizza, Andy came in and ate a small piece. I knew it was only a matter of time. He was sick all night with whatever spouse had. He couldn't even hold down water. By the time morning came, he was better, but weak, so we cancelled our plans to visit our little old lady friend and just hung out. I was pretty tired myself. I felt like I had been beaten up - achy, tired, swollen. So Andy and I watched Star Wars movies and Babe - a film I watched many times when I was pregnant with my boy. He enjoyed it and we admired the cute parts and silly voices. I'm not sure how much of the allegory sunk in for him, but it was a nice morning to cuddle and laugh and sip water and ice chips.

And then, another gift: I got a note from silent friend asking us to agree to disagree and inviting us to dinner next Sunday. I was shocked and happy. I called back and we're going there next week. I feel better that at least we'll move on from this ugly, sad time.

Saturday night was an early one, I finished laundry, we flinked around, but I went to bed around 9:30 after we set the clocks ahead.

Sunday, everyone was well enough for a visit, so we drove an hour to visit our friend "Aunt Hat." She is an interesting woman with no children, nor remaining family. We visit once or twice a year, take her to lunch, meet friends she lives with in her retirement community and chat for awhile. It was another pretty day. We went for lunch at another seafood place, but one that only fries things. I am still recovering from grease.

I'm hoping this will be a productive week and I'll keep walking. I've got a master list to work on.

A hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!