Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:53 a.m. - 2006-03-22
What day is this?
Very nice getaway, though I am so disoriented, I have NO CLUE as to what day this is. We drove to Long Island, met my parents and went toexperience the joy that is a Peter Luger's steak. Oh. My. I have never had a more delicious steak. I know, I know - it's steak, what can they do to it? I think they must feed the cattle truffles and flowers and everything delicious, because this cow was extraordinary. Expensive, but extraordinary. We ordered the steak for four, and Andy had chicken. We had a delightful waitor who was from croatia and took a liking to Andy. The steak came out and was as big as a small table. Everything is a la carte. But so worth it. And they don't take credit cards, so we cleaned out our cash pretty quick. Saturday we hung out, did some exploring of Long Island, had lunch at a great greek diner. Who KNEW there were so many great diners on Long Island? Came home, got dressedfor the wedding ceremony, did that, opened up the house for the guests between the wedding and reception, and then spouse, Andy and I went out to dinner. Well Andy ate and Dave ate. I was still full from the day before. Here's another cool thing that Long Island has - Italian Ice stands with hundreds of flavors. Andy was in heaven. It was freezing, but Andy had a cookie dough Italian ice. I had mango.
Sunday we had breakfast at the hotel, then went to my father's cousin's house for a brunch - saw the relatives, then came back, hung out and went to dinner at Baja Fresh - a chain that is fabulous. I think it might be owned by McD's. Monday was our exploring day - we found yarn stores for my mother, craft stores for me, had lunch at another great diner and made my Dad happy, found great architecture for spouse to photograph and explored some of the towns in the Hamptons. Came home, ate at a hole in the wall Italian place near the hotel and played many rounds of "catch phrase" back at the hotel.

Tuesday morning, packed out, played some more games and had lunch before my parents went back to the cousins and we drove home. It was nice, everyone got along, and I have to say, everyone we encounted on Long Island was so incredibly pleasant and helpful. I think maybe that Magic-chusetts is a bit snobby and cold and I didn't realize it because I am always here.

So today is all about laundry and job hunting. I'm realy okay, heard from a few folks at the office who want me to come in for lunch tomorrow. I'm thinking about it. Spouse has day-long retreats/meetings today and tomorrow, so I'm on deck for Andy-care which is just fine.

And it is officially spring isn't it?

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!