Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:56 a.m. - 2006-01-09
Count your blessings again

How come I'm so tired if I just had two days off? We had a movie festival of sorts this weekend. I ca't remember what we watched Friday, but Saturday we spent in the car returning things, going to the post office and mailing things, getting library books, dropping off dry-cleaning and eating lunch. Saturday night we watched "Revenge of the Sith." Very cool with the alpha-omega thing. The movie detailing what happened first is the last movie. Spouse and I are debating whether to re-watch all the Star Wars movie in order of the numbers, or in order of when they were made. Hmmmm. Andy loved it, though we were warned about the implied violence against the "younglings." After that, spouse and I got sucked into watching "Fiddler on the Roof." My parents had a number of broadway show albums, and I remember that was one of them we listened to obsessively, along with Tom Lehrer, Hair and Music Man. Such an electic mix of lyrics.

Sunday I was supposed to sleep in, but couldn't get to sleep past 6:30, so I got up and read the papers and made breakfast for Andy who got up around 7:30. Spouse got up around 9. We cleaned a bit, watched "Men in Black" for a while, then started the festival o'laundry and then headed out to see the latest Harry Potter movie at the theater. Andy liked it. I tried to point out the common themes between the Potter movie and the Sith movie - detailing the corruption of power, but he isn't ready yet, so I just shut my self-righteous self up.

After that we did the grocery shopping, picked up supplies for yet another cub scout project and had dinner out. I had staked my claim to have a steak since I won't be eating red meat in large quantities for a while.

We are having company for dinner tonight. Neighbor/friends are having their kitchen remodeled so they have not had a kitchen for about three weeks. We're having home-made minestrone, fresh baked break (crock pot and bread machine) and salad. I used up the last of the black eyed pea salad I made for New Year's day (basil instead of collard greens, prosciutto instead of ham hocks) and the rest of the leftover vegetables for the soup. I made an Italian-style bread last night and a cheese bread this morning. Their three boys are somewhat picky eaters, so they'll likely be having chicken nuggets.

Talked to my friend whose husband is dying so quickly. He is unable to speak any more, and after reviews by boards at the nationally known hospital where he was being treated, they've finally released him to hospice. The one my friend chose turned out to be a horror-show with no third-shift staff; so another hospice made an emergency intervention and is keeping him there for three or four days until they can make other arrangements. My friend is beside herself. He is crashing so quickly, she doesn't think he will last the week. I know the fight for good care is sustaining her, but I worry about the aftermath for her.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!