Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:53 a.m. - 2005-12-07
Bringing home the bacon...NOT
I always get more done when I work at home than when I work at work, but I never get as much done as I think I will...

Andy has been on a big STAR WARS kick, and he said he heard that someone had an R2D2 necklace in his class. I suddenly remembered that my father had given me one back in the 80s, and sure enough when I poked through my jewelry box, there it was. Andy was ecstatic, and I let him wear it to school yesterday. When I picked him up in the afternoon, he burst into tears and said that when he went to wash his hands, a bigger kid tripped him and the necklace broke when he fell. He was so upset it broke my heart. His teacher tried to repair it with school glue, and the art teacher tried with something else, but it didn't work, and Andy just sobbed all day. He was afraid I would be mad at him like when he loses his boots, but I tried to explain that losing something, and having an accident were two different things. Poor muffin.

I think we'll be able to have it soldered at the jewelers. We'll see. But I'm NOT happy with this tripping thing - a kid will suddenly stick his leg out and try to trip the younger kids. It has happened several times to Andy and other kids in the neighborhood. Oh good - something new to fume about.

Took Andy for his flu shot - he did great, told the nurse about the tripping incident and chatted for awhile. Then we went to get my niece's NEW christmas present since she already has the one I ran around to three stores to get. Ugh.

Took Andy to our favorite Mexican restaurant, then came home, paid bills and watched Charlie Brown Christmas in our jammies. Andy kept laughing at Snoopy's antics all throug the show. He is also enamored of Pig Pen. Hope you got to see Earl and Office - the best snows on the teeeveee!

This morning at work we had a holiday "breakfast" which is a substitute for any holiday party we might have had. I wanted to eat my weight in bacon, but there wasn't any. Several people wept openly. (But probably NOT about the lack of bacon.)

Spouse and I are going out to lunch and doing a bit o'christmas shopping. Only a week left until the company starts arriving. Oh. My.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!