Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:20 a.m. - 2005-11-16
Lessons and garlic

So here's the thing:

There are several lessons I feel I am aware of (although since I keep making mistakes, I can't say I've LEARNED them yet) that I feel I should share.

(Please don't diagram that sentence...)

1. Sometimes it is just better to shut the hell up.

I don't have to have the last word, I don't have to make sure everyone around me gets my point, I don't HAVE to win every time.

2. Almost everyone thinks they are unique and special and just a little bit better than most people.

3. Most people just want their pain and struggle acknowledged. Only some people expect you to fix it.

4. For me anyway, I find that the more quietly I speak during a conflict, the more power and control I have.

5. Flossing makes you feel virtuous.

6. Things that can affect your mood that probably shouldn't: The fit of shoes; the weather; other people's opinions.

7. Things that can affect your mood that you should probably seek out: A really great piece of music; the admiration of children (who aren't necessarily yours); true friends.

8. Doing something nice for someone else and not telling them about it makes me feel happy.

9. Be prepared, but not overwhelmed.

10. Eventually it won't hurt as much.

My boss got wind of our miscontent and finally came around to speak with us, however the conversation was somewhat focused on his own personal fear and loathing. I let him say his piece. I asked questions that he would not answer. I am focusing on item #1 (see above.)

Last night I made a really good dinner of mussels, tomatoes, shallots, garlic, basil, parsley and white wine. I sauteed the shallot and garlic, added the herbs, then wine and reduced it a bit. Then I added the tomatoes and reduced the sauce a bit, and finally the mussels, which I steamed until they opened, removed them from their shell, set them aside and added back the rest of the mussel broth from the shells. I toasted some ciabatta bread (flattish Italian bread) with olive oil and rubbed garlic on it, and then added the mussels back to the sauce to heat it through, added some more fresh herbs and served it all over the bread. Oh my - it was delicious! Although today, spouse and I have garlic seeping through our pores.

Time to apply for jobs!

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!