Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:41 a.m. - 2005-11-14
Worries
Things I am worried about besides my job:

1. Global warming
2. The lack of research on renewable energy
3. My mother's CT scan.

My mother had what she thought was a bout of appendicitus earlier this year. As a result, they did tests - CT scans, x-rays, MRIs, etc. Three things showed up on the tests: A) she did not have appendicitus; B) she had something in her jaw; C) she had something in her neck near the thyroid. She opted to postpone further testing because she had some trips planned, and she is somewhat claustrophobic so she didn't want more MRIs. The jaw thing doesn't seem too serious, in fact, we just discovered my sister had a similar thing a few years ago. They'll likely remove whatever it is (a cyst I think) and that will be that. The neck thing however is more problematic. Whatever it is showed up on my mother's tests again on Thursday, so she is awaiting more results. Personally, I think they're going to say "We don't know what it is, so we'll have to biopsy it." Then that will mean more surgery, waiting for results, etc. I am not good at that. I also cannot handle much more stress. It is my imagination I think; I can imagine all of the worst possible scenarios. I feel like I cannot focus on a job search until this is resolved with my mother.

I have to change subjects if I wish to continue breathing normally.

Friday, my stove finally indicated it was through. I had been losing burners steadily since we bought the house, but the last few times, I was unable to repair them. Then the oven door began to disintegrate. This is not an antique stove, but it is one that showed up regularly on "Let's make a Deal!" and is a lovely harvest gold. So Friday night we high-tailed it to Sears and got a new one, and they just nickel and dime you to death with permits, extra cords, delivery fees, take-away fees, etc. I currently have two ovens - this unit is all one piece, so when we take out the stove, I have no idea what will be behind it, if I'll have to put up a backsplash, or if there is a vent. And I'll lose an oven in the deal. Yah, yah, I know, I have heat, I have a roof over my head, shut myself up!!!!

This weekend: Did a two mile hike on Saturday morning with my cub scouts at a nature preserve. It was beautiful and cold, but eventually things warmed up. We did not see too much wildlife because - well, it was cold, and also five 8-year-old boys are very noisy and announce themselves at least a half-mile before they arrive. Then we had a make-up cub meeting on bicycle safety. The boys did well.

After that, Andy and I went and had Chinese food for lunch, while Spouse worked on stuff at home and dealt with the glee-club leaf rakers. (I think that would make an interesting band name.) Anyway, every year, the glee club where spouse (and I used to) works has a fund raiser - they'll rake leaves for a donation. We give them about $150 and feed them lunch. Actually, the lunch costs more sometimes...But the leaves are mostly gone and we have 124 bags lined up along side our house
to be picked up.

After lunch Andy and I did some Christmas shopping and got some gifts for Spouse's birthday on Thursday. Andy picked out a nice leather wallet/keycase. I think spouse will like it. Then home, collapse, five loads of laundry and a home-made pizza. We watched the Wizard of Oz (they watched, I fell asleep at 9) and Sunday was D&O with the in-laws.

Today is just Monday. Trying to get some job leads, worry about my mother and keep my head above water at the moment. I LOVE this time of year. I want to be excited about this time of year. I just want everything to be okay.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!