Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:26 a.m. - 2005-10-25
I even bought cider for my father

Yesterday I spent a good part of the day trying to reach my parents in Florida. We had some sporadic connections, but we were always cut off even on the cell. As of 8 last night I learned: they have no power, they have no land phone (and the cell is spotty at best); and they lost the back screen room for the third time. This isn't just some little umbrella type thing, this is a substantial structure with support beams and now it is gone. The first time it came down was when they were hit by a tornado three or four years ago, and they've lost parts of the structure two more times with hurricanes last year. The good news is that their house is okay, they lost no roof tiles, and they are not flooded. They were supposed to fly out at 10 this morning, but I knew they wouldn't be able to come. My mother called on the cell when I was driving to work to say they couldn't get through to the airport (no power, and no one at their airline was answering the phone.) I am worried though because she said my father has been having a bad cough for a few days and has had to sleep sitting up. I hope he'll be able to get to a doctor.

Andy is going to be very disappointed. I tried to prepare him this weekend, but we'll see how it goes tonight when he finds out. We were supposed to go to the Cape for the weekend, so maybe we'll still do that.

We are getting massive amounts of wind and rain, which the weather people assure us is not just Wilma but "two other storms..." really, should that make a difference? We may even get snow tomorrow.

I put a ginormous potroast in the crockpot in preparation for my parents tonight. I put fresh thyme, some leftover salsa, chopped tomatoes, beef stock, carrots, onions, celery, potatoes, green beans, garlic a bit of wine and a few porcini mushrooms. Hope it will be tasty. We'll be eating that for a few days now.

Work is getting a bit more tense - we're all waiting for the other shoe to drop and must document all of our "procedures" and those of our direct reports. Several of the big bosses are on vacation. Some of them deserve a break, but the timing makes my stomach hurt.

Here is something I've bumped into that I've never come across in my long life of job hunting: Jobs that require you to live in the city or state that is hiring. There are two really interesting jobs for which I am well-qualified except I don't live in the city where the job is. (Don't diagram that sentence please.) I must, must, must get over this malaise.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!