Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:22 a.m. - 2005-10-17
No virus, no rain...until tomorrow
Finally, oh finally - Andy is over his virus and back at school; and it has stopped raining. We had rain for nine straight days. I swear we had mildew behind our ears. In fact Friday was so bad, our basement flooded. In the 13 years we've lived at our house, we (knock wood) have never had any real issues with water in the basement, but Saturday morning spouse went down and found a few inches of water. Fortunately, we had the foresight to store things down there on pallets and 2x4s, but we lost a few boxes of things. I know it is an unusual weather pattern, bt since the neighbors added a room to their house and (illegally) raised the grade of their yard by at least three feet, I feel the urge to blame them. They have not been responsive. Last winter we asked them to do something, as we could see sheets of water running off their property and pooling into ours, and it was just a matter of time. They said they would put bales of marsh hay on the property line and feigned real concern, but none ever appeared. I do not like them, but it appears I dislike confrontation even more.

Friday, Andy was finally feeling better, so we ran some errands Friday night, came home and crashed into bed. Saturday we were up early, ran more errands, and did a warehouse store run, then came home, went to church, made supper and got stuff ready for the block party/yard sale. (It was still raining on Saturday.) I must have had five calls from the neighbors asking for a weather report. Do these people not have radios and televisions? I think they just wanted reassurances that it would not rain for the yard sale, and it didn't. In fact, for the first time in nearly two weeks, the sun appeared, but it was windy, windy, windy, so we had to be careful how we set up the tables so things wouldn't blow away.

There was a moderate amount of traffic, about eight families who did the yard sale. We began at 9, though people were coming at 7:15 while we were setting up looking for "antiques" even though the ad said "toys, books, clothing." We cleared out a fair amount of stuff, and Andy did the major amount of purging from his stuff. I still feel a little queasy, but he was happy with the money, and I was glad that his stuff went to someone who would love it as much as he did (when he did love it...) Spouse and I also cleared a bunch of dishes, CDs and other stuff we didn't even realize we had, and what didn't sell was driven directly to an attended Goodwill station. I kept some of Andy's clothes that didn't sell for a friend who has boys; the kids books will go to a charity in the city where I work; and Andy's bike I'll try to sell in a consignment shop. We cleared about $120. I gave Andy $25, bought him the neighbor's bike which is just his size, and the rest will go into his college fund. I am glad the sale is over.

The block party was also fun - we were outside and it was really cold for a change! Even me - Ms. hotflash - was shivering. The kids loved the moonwalk, though there were the usual turf wars; and one neighbor tried to pick a fight, but I told her to knock it off and go home if she didn't choose to enjoy herself. Really people.

This week is incredibly busy. Tonight: cub scout pack meeting with our swamp fishing booth; tomorrow - something, but I forget; Wednesday - karate belt test that Andy missed last week because he was sick; Thursday - work event at night; Friday - meeting I am running and then Friday night is scrapbooking as is Saturday. Saturday night is grown-up night at our house. (I'm going to clean the house when?) and Sunday is inlaws D&O. My parents arrive Monday afternoon, but I suspect they will do the usual and head to my brother's on Tuesday. Who knows.

I know, I know - I am so damn boring I could plotz.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!