Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 a.m. - 2005-10-07
Not in the club
Happy, happy weekend dance!

Yesterday after work, I volunteered for an hour to set up for the school open house. I took an hour of vacation time to do this. I arrived to a pack of women who had serious control issues and did not want to give anyone who wasn't them anything to do. In case they didn't do it exactly as they wanted it done, except they were so, so busy that they couldn't really explain what it was that they wanted. I finally found a pile of unlabelled baked goods and started pricing with another woman who thought it would be a good idea to do the same. They told us our "cent" signs weren't clear. A letter c. With a line through it. Oh pulleeeeze. We just laughed and realized we weren't members of the club.

Came home, made the bluefish for dinner with sauteed spinach and delicata squash, then piled back into the car for the open house, which really isn't an open house, just a bunch of fund-raising things - silent auction, bake sale (with imperfect cent signs), pumpkin sale, 100 item raffle, and a wishing well where parents could contribute money towards items for the classroom. Last year, the teachers asked for really creative things and we obliged. This year they all asked for gift certificates for W@lmort, ST@ples and B@rnes and noble. I found that dull. Where's the creativity? I suppose I should take comfort in the fact that the classrooms must be pretty well stocked, and that the teachers don't need anything significant.

It is supposed to rain all weekend. We'll probably cancel the block party and yard sale.

Boy. I am just a pill today. A bitter, bitter pill.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!