Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 a.m. - 2005-09-27
A sea of tomatoes

Yesterday afternoon was particularly soupy, a little smudge of sun on the way home from work last night. At least I got home during sunlight yesterday! First time in two weeks!

Made whole wheat pasta with a home-made tomato sauce with the plethora of tomatoes we've inherited, an enormous amount of garlic (thank heavens this isn't a scratch and sniff diary...), basil and a bit of thyme from my front-step herb pots, and a shallot. I had some chicken/Italian sausages that I added to the pot after the sauce simmered. Andy and spouse came home from Karate and we chowed. It was a great hot bowl of comfort.

Tonight we're having meatless chili w/soy protien - much better than it actually sounds. I chopped up onions, garlic, a small bit of carrot, and more of those tomatoes and peppers we inherited, cumin, epazote, adobo and a handful of chopped cilantro, pinto beans, kidney beans and a can of chopped tomatoes with chiles. It is simmering in the crockpot and I'm feeling virtuous. When I get home tonight - dinner is done!

Can I just say that I LOVE apple season? There is nothing like a juicy McCoun or a lovely ginger gold for breakfast. Or lunch.

Oh and here's another thing. I finally got to watch "everybody hates chris" and thought it was terrific. I (spouse) had taped it so I got to see it last night. Not sure if I'll choose it over Survivor, but Andy likes it, so maybe we'll watch it together. Saw Arrested Development - too funny; and two and a half men, which has been spouse's and my guilty pleasure last year. This year? Not so much.

I do not whine.
I am full of energy.
I make the healthy food choice.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!