Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:28 a.m. - 2005-09-12
Candles, sleep and leftovers
I had to work this weekend, so I am wiped out and it is only Monday morning. But I got the project finished, and my boss and the big boss know I was here to get everything done.
Got home Saturday night and we grabbed a quick bite to eat at a chain whose theme is southern country style food. Then we took a (short) drive to get lottery tickets, enjoyed the end of summer scenery and got home where I commenced the festival o'laundry. We watched one of my favorite movies - Bandwagon - and Andy really enjoyed it. Sunday - up early, church with Andy, grocery shopping, then home to get ready for a birthday party. It was a moon-walk birthday party. We came home, I grilled some bluefish and asparagas for dinner, did some more laundry and fell into bed.

This weekend I noticed that one of the neighbors had little candles in jars across her driveway, then on Sunday I noticed they went up the street - in fact on the way to church, we even noticed that a few were still lit. Then this morning, I saw they extended about a half-mile down the other street. What's up with that? It seemed too early for a 911 memorial, but I don't know. Of course, I had to ruin the mystical aura of it all because we are under "brush fire" warnings, and I'm concerned that one of these little beacons will set something on fire.

Today Andy is having a fire drill. His teacher gave us a heads up at the bottom of one of his math papers. It is today at 9:30. I know he'll do okay. We talked about it again last night, so I hope he knows he is ready.

Tonight we're having baked eggplant and mozzarella - not quite eggplant parmesan, but chunkier and with no breading.

Tomorrow I'm simmering two leftover hunks of pork roast from the freezer with tomatillos, onions and corn. If it turns out, I'll make fajita type things with flour tourtillas.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!