Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:16 a.m. - 2005-09-07
I'm waiting for fall apples
Okay - I did two things last night - I finished an application for a new job - a cool job, a job I could do well on the same campus where I work. I had already spoken with my boss, but I'd been dragging my feet about actually applying on line. I realized last week that I was afraid I WOULDN'T get called for an interview and feel all rejected. But I just did it last night, and I feel a million times better.

ALSO - I asked spouse to call his faculty person and postpone the dinner thing next week. Work is really, really crazy now, and we have some home issues we're dealing with, and I was all stressed and had my panties in a twist (love to say that...) and now I feel better. We'll do it next month when some of the work stuff settles down. WHEW! I feel so much better!

Andy had a little melt down last night about fire drills. He's always been afraid of fire alarms, he had a really scary incident when he was about three, when his day-care was hit by lightening, which set off the alarms, and the kids had to evacuate in a thunderstorm, and the firemen came, so ever since, he's been really afraid of both thunderstorms and to some extent fire drills.

The thunderstorm thing has abated a bit, and I thought we were over the fire drill thing, but every night, he asks if there's going to be a drill the next day, and he's worried that he'll be in the bathroom when it happens, so I wrote a note to his teacher explaining everything, so we'll see what happens. I'm at a loss otherwise - we've gone to the fire station, we've talked to fire men, we've done practice drills at the house, we've read books about firemen, fires and fire trucks. I don't know what to do to help him overcome his fear.

I suspect he's bundled all of his fears about third grade and getting older into this fear, and he'll work through it. I hope so.

Tooth is fixed - I avoided a crown for now. We're still paying off spouse's two crowns, my two crowns, and Andy's "pre-orthodonture" work.

We were supposed to get 2,500 hurricane family members yesterday or today in my state. I had signed on to volunteer next weekend, but they've decided it is too far away from where they live, so no one is coming.

Have I already complained that when I went to church on Sunday, the priest, who was not from our parish, but a visitor, and elderly, and nursing a cold and arthritis, did not say ONE WORD about the hurricane, nor the suffering its victims are enduring? Not. One. Single. Word. I am apalled.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!