Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:07 a.m. - 2005-09-06
Certainties

Andy is going through this phase where he wants to know our favorites of everything. "Momma - what is your favorite food?" Pizza, usually, but sometimes ice cream, or pasta. "Momma, what is the best movie you ever saw?" I have to think about it. "Momma - what book would you read over and over again?" It made me realize that I have few such fixed points at the moment.
And I am glad that so many things in Andy's life are certain for him. He doesn't have to second guess, he doesn't have to hedge his answer, or couch his opinions or position himself to his audience.

Friday on the way home from work, I stopped at the farmer's market in our town and bought really interesting "heirloom" tomatoes - little green and yellow stripe jewels, some orange and yellow striped ones, and of course the summer-fat red ones. Made a salad with them with a bit of shallot, handful of basil torn up, the tiniest bit of minced garlic and vinegar and olive oil. It was so delicious!

I broke a tooth that is paining me, and I had it partially repaired last week and hope to have it finished this afternoon. Ugh.

Visited with spouse's bro and SIL as will as the in-laws this weekend. I softened my black-hardened heart a bit. They are going through fertility issues, as we did, and she doesn't have anyone to talk to about it, so I am glad to pay back for all the kind people who listened to me. I think she is most scared that she actually WILL get pregnant. She travels quite a bit, and she is fairly high up in her job. I think it is the change that scares her. How do I know this? Because it is one of the same fears that I had, and I could only tell her, if I knew how much I would love my boy, I would have done the treatments a thousand times over to get to the same place. We exchanged emails and phone numbers.

We ran a diaper drive on Friday at work - we collected money to buy diapers and sent them to the Houston Food Bank which is handling the influx for that city. We collected nearly $1,400! I know it is only a drop in the bucket, but it made everyone here feel like they were doing something concrete.

Okay, here is another really wierd thing. I rarely watch this network, let alone its programming, but last night we were flipping through and I saw some faces on N@nny 9ll and I kept saying, that looks like Andy's friend, Brandon. That looks like Brandon's brother Andrew, that looks like Brandon's sister Maddie. And you know what? It was! I felt so wierd watching this family's struggles unfold for an hour. I know these people. They've had dinner with us. They've played in our house. Andy has played at their house. How bizaaaaaaaah.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!